1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Has Anyone Come Across This Problem...

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by LadyA, Sep 8, 2004.

  1. LadyA

    LadyA Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hello All...I'm a newbie here...

    I'm trying to convert my AVIs to DVD's using Cucusoft AVI Converter. Everytime I start the program or any converting program, my computer shuts down. It's driving me crazy.

    Has this happen to anyone else? I would love some advice on this...Thank you so much in advance :)
     
  2. Jeanc1

    Jeanc1 Guest

    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 8, 2004
  3. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116

    Hi LadyA, Welcome to aD,

    We'll try to help but we need soime information first -

    Let's start with your PC's specs,

    Processor,
    Available HD space,
    RAM,
    OS,
    File system (FAT32,NTFS)

    Describe in detail what you're doing when what exactly happens -

    Please feel free to answer in detail

    Cheers,

    Pete
     
  4. LadyA

    LadyA Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thank you so much! Here goes...

    Let's start with your PC's specs,

    Processor, - Gateway
    Available HD space, - Main 13g 2HDD - 55
    RAM, - 256
    OS, - XP
    File system (FAT32,NTFS) - NTFS (I think)

    I have Cucusoft and WinAVI and I'm trying to convert them to MPEGs but my computer goes to standby after 30mb into the conversion process. I have no idea what to do. I have disabled all the standby buttons and still it goes in mandatory standby.

    Do I need to update something?
     
  5. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116


    Okie, Dokie there LadyA

    I'm hoping your processor is a 1.2 Ghz or better and I'm hoping you have 6 to 8 GB of hard drive FREE !

    Otherwise it might be too much of a job for your PC (maybe you can get that info for me ?)

    You're running XP soooo, let's free up your resources somewhat as you've only got 256 of RAM available.

    Start button, run, type in: msconfig, click, "OK", click on the startup tab - click "Disable all, click apply, then "OK" then "OK" to restart your PC.

    When you open again, try your proggy.

    If that doesn't work then try this as it's the newest version -

    http://www.avi-vcd.com/

    Let me know how you do -

    Pete



    _X_X_X_X_X_[small][​IMG]
    The “old man” Pete (ö¿ô)
    Compaq 8000, Pent IV CPU 2.84GHz, 1024MB RAM, 520GB HD.
    Pioneer 107, 8X R/W , Nec R/W ND-1300A, JLMS DVD ROM.
    128MB GeForce4 TI 4200, O/S XP[/small]
     
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2004
  6. LadyA

    LadyA Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hey ScubaPete,

    I found the solution to my problem. I actually went onto an XP board and found the answer. My computer is overheating. That's why it was shutting down. (I feel so stupid!) Anyways, I've placed several small fans by the computer and have them going when I'm running my conversion programs.

    Thanks so much for your offer of help. I really do appreaciate.

    LadyA
     

Share This Page