1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Has anyone tried a larger hard drive yet!!!

Discussion in 'PS4 - Modding & Hacking' started by megadunderhead, Jan 20, 2014.

  1. megadunderhead

    megadunderhead Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    28
    i was wondering if changing the hard drive was as simple as it was on the ps3 and if it works any better with a 1 tb or better drive??
     
  2. Oner

    Oner Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Messages:
    2,929
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    It's actually simpler on the PS4. It is also compatible with more HDD's as the system will now accommodate up to a 12.5mm laptop drive (not like the smaller ones needed for the PS3 @9.5mm) for more choice in upgradability. As for which would be best ~ platter, SSD or hybrid, here is some info that showed the stock HDD is not so bad. But I believe there have been some newer findings as of late now that the PS4 is in millions of peoples hands to perform even way more tests.
     
  3. cazer

    cazer Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yes I upgraded mine first day to a 1 TB but have since went back to the 500 GB that it came with. The reason why is because when my PS4 would go into sleep mode after awhile the yellow light would go from solid yellow to a blinking yellow. Whine this would happen I could not wake it up. I would have to unplug my PS4 and plug it back in every time.
     
  4. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,990
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Check hdd isn't a type that cycles off when not in use as that's what green drives & the like do
     
  5. marcusita

    marcusita Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    You can even use 3.5" Sata HDD's on your PS4, just as you could with the PS3, of course it will need the same type of minor modding and you will have the HDD lying outside the console, its a good idea if you have a spare 3.5" drive but don't have a 2.5".

    Check the PS4 Dev Wiki, it has a lot of information on the PS4 :)
     
  6. megadunderhead

    megadunderhead Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    28
    cool thank you
     

Share This Page