1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Have 60GB hard drive on original 360, can put bigger hard drive in 60GB casing?

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by GameGuru8, May 7, 2014.

  1. GameGuru8

    GameGuru8 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Just like the subject says I was wondering if I would replace the 60GB hard drive that is in the hard drive casing with a larger hard drive? I haven't taken it apart but I am assuming it is a laptop hard drive right?
     
  2. richietea

    richietea Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Laptop drives are the same 2.5 form factor as a xbox 360 HDD.The problem you have is you cannot just swap a laptop HDD and expect the xbox 360 to read it.Firstly it has to be on the compatible list of drives that can be flashed with a .bin file using hddhackr.Then partitioned into 3 for the xbox 360 to read it.Check out the link below which explains what is needed.

    http://www.se7ensins.com/forums/thr...ive-from-scratch-western-digital-only.897465/
     
  3. cooll903

    cooll903 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    yes and no. that is true if your 360 isn't RGH. if it is you can have as big of a one as you want. right now mine has a 1.5tb 2.5 HDD and two 2tb ext. hard drives. total of 5.5TB.
     
  4. richietea

    richietea Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    28
    The op wasn't mentioning Rgh he was asking for a larger HDD.If he did you are right,but in this instance its a question of using a compatible HDD a .bin file and Hddhackr.
     
  5. Eisherz

    Eisherz Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,828
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    78
    And to inject the 3rd partition. Otherwise the new harddrive won't be able to use the Xbox emulator and some other things.
     
  6. richietea

    richietea Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Your right Eisherz think i used xplorer 360 not sure its been ages having to manually inject the third partition.Correct me if im wrong.
     
  7. Eisherz

    Eisherz Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,828
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    78
  8. richietea

    richietea Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Thought it rang a bell that's the Tutorial/program i used,yes it was partition 2.I ended up sticking to buying Scorpio blue's 320Gb if they came at a decent price.Usually had to do a lot of fishing for cheap HDD casings to keep the cost down though.
     

Share This Page