1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Have I been screwed?

Discussion in 'PS2' started by Silver82, Mar 21, 2003.

1. Silver82

Silver82 Member

Hello u guys!
    I got a modded PS2 yesterday and I'm begginning to think that I got screwed big time!
    U gotta know that I'm a newbie in Modchips and all!
    I had a contact who bought brand new PS2 and sell them back modded!!! He said he had 2 PS2 premodded with Magic4 No swap Modchip that could read and boot anything!!! The questionmark now is that the more I'm reading on this forum, the more I'm messed up! WTF? does magic4 really exist or not?! no one's talking about it here!
    Is it just a piece of junk clone or the likes?
    But the weird thing is that the PS2 actually DOES boot every backup I got and almost 19 times out of 20!
    CDRs DVDrs and even originals!!! The only problem is that it would eventually lock up after some time playing! I noticed that it ALWAYS happens in cinematics and sometimes in gameplay and only on DVDrs. As a matter of example, EVERY SINGLE TIME I play FFX, it freezes in less than 15 minutes...and 1/3 on the very first cinematic,I can'T even get to the 1st save point! And it did froze with ROCKY DVD (the game), and I tried Metal gear solid 2 backup to prove my theory and it did! After about ½hour of intro looping it froze!
    ATV2 did froze too after a while on the demo mode.
    But Contra Shattered soldier NEVER did froze even after 2 hours looping! (but it's a cdr) Have any of you ever experienced such a thing and what did you do to correct it??

Another weird thing I noticed is that the ps2 get more crappy after it froze.
    E.G:"After a lockup in FFX the game won't boot as well as it used to do...I sometime have to retry 4-5 times before it boots up!"

Anyway thanks in advance for the answers!

2. jhnbnblzd

jhnbnblzd Guest