1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

having problems with dvd shrink 3.2 help

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by fastflstn, Sep 3, 2004.

  1. fastflstn

    fastflstn Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    IM having problems with dvd shrink. i just installed the new Sony 8.5 double layer drive and trying to change the options on the dvd shrink 3.2 program so i can burn on a double layer disk with less compression and it will not let me it just freeze up and i have to close the program
     
  2. yellowsam

    yellowsam Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    me thinks you should use dvd decrypter instead as shrink shrinks. You dont need to shrink with those big assed disks
     
  3. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116


    DVD Shrink is setup for dual-layered burners. I don't know what your problem is -

    Could you be more specific -

    Pete
     
  4. fastflstn

    fastflstn Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i have a Dell Dimension 8200 pentium(r)4 cpu 2.53ghz with 1.00 gb of ram.2 hard drives 120 and a 200
     
  5. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116


    (Lol) fastflstn,

    That's a nice PC but it wasn't what I meant :)

    Exactly what are you doing when your PC "Freezes".

    Exactly what do you mean when you say it "Freezes" ?

    Are you doing anything else while your PC freezes ?

    Have you tried to turn off things that are running in the background in msconfig ?

    Are you reading, encoding or burning when it"freezes" ?

    What brand of media are you using ?

    What proggy are you using to burn your DVD ?

    Don't worry, giving me the info will help me solve your problem faster -

    Cheers, Good guy :p)
     
  6. fastflstn

    fastflstn Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    sorry its not the pc that freezes its the program.if i try to open file the program stops if i go to the top tool bar click on edit go down to preference and click on that program stops and then i have to hit ctrl,alt,del go to the task manager to get the program to stop because it would let me do anything eles.
     
  7. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116


    All right – at least I know what you mean by freezing.

    Since you refuse to provide me with any meaningful answers to my questions, I suggest you uninstall what ever you're using as it seems to have a few conflicts. Maybe you'll look to see what kind of proggys you have on your PC. Anything like Roxio, turn off it's "click and drag" features. (actually Roxio pretty much doesn't get along with anybody, if you can live without it it's better to remove it).

    Any other packet-writing software should be turned off.

    Here's a guide to follow. download the proggys listed there and follow the instructions, step-by-step. Do not use your PC for anything other than what the guide tells you to do. You should also go into msconfig and shut down everything you can under the "startup" tab.

    http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/2/74599

    Let's do that and see how we fare, OK?

    I'm sorry but any further help WILL NOT be forth coming without any help from you on a much grander scale. We're not set up to beg for information from those who are asking help from us.

    I'll be waiting for a report –

    Pete
     
  8. fastflstn

    fastflstn Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hi pete well i went into system configuration utility and disable all and it seems to have worked.somthing was stoping the dvd shrink program from working now i can rip to a 8.5 layer disk.thanks for the help.Barry
     
  9. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116


    Glad to be of help Barry,

    That's why we get the big bucks (Lol)

    Pete

     

Share This Page