1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Having problems with Swap Magic 3.6 + Final Fantasy XII

Discussion in 'PS2 - Software boot discussion' started by Ran2006, Jan 10, 2007.

  1. Ran2006

    Ran2006 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hey all,

    First let me preface this by saying that for the entire morning I looked through old threads for solution but have, as yet, been unable to locate anything.

    Anyway, I recently backed up FF:XII. I've had a Swap Magic v 2.0 for a long time now and I tried to load it using that. No luck. I read somewhere that it was recommended I upgrade to a newer version of Swap Magic so I managed to get my hands on Swap Magiv v 3.6. Again, no luck with the original copy I made.

    So I figured maybe it was the DVD medium I was using (I burnt it 3 times on a really cheap type of disc). So I bought some high quality Sony DVD-Rs and burnt it again, still no luck. I don't know what to do about this little problem and any help is appreciated.

    Other Info: All the backups were burnt in DVD Decrypter at 2x speed. I'm burning one at 1x right now, but I don't hold out much hope for it.

    Also, I tried my new Swap Magic 3.6 discs with a backup of Devil May Cry 2 I've had for a long time and it worked fine.

    Thanks for any help you can offer,
    Ran
     
  2. Ran2006

    Ran2006 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Nevermind, the 1x copy of it works fine.

    Thanks anyway!
    Ran2006
     
  3. Walucino

    Walucino Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Now that you burned Final Fantasy XII at 1x and it worked, are you using the new, original swap magic, or the version 2.0 or a copy of the newer version swap magic with the old version of swap magic?

    Also did you have to shrink the image to make the backup on DVD Decrypter? I want to know if I can make a straight copy without having to turn it in to an image, because I tried that and the FFXII back up does not work, and I cannot figure out how to make a simple copy with Decrypter
     
  4. Ran2006

    Ran2006 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hey,

    I started out using version 3.6 to boot it. However, I just tried v 2.0 with my working disc and it booted just fine. I am used Sony media and it was burnt at 1x.

    As far as making the copy I simply ripped the image with DVD Decrypter and then burnt it.

    Are you having troubles? What sort of media are you using and at what speed have you burnt your copies?
     

Share This Page