1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

having trouble booting swapmagic DVD disc

Discussion in 'PS2 - Software boot discussion' started by Xman2004, Nov 14, 2004.

  1. Xman2004

    Xman2004 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ok heres my problem....i have swap magic DVD disc and it is badly scratched...it worked b4 when it was scratched but has suddenly stopped and wont load up. I know my PS2 laser is fine because it boots originals and the swap magic CD disc. My swapmagic CD disc, however does not play any of my DVD backups. However, when I insert CD loader and use that to boot all of my games including those with no fixes, they work. My question is...what the hell is wrong with my swapmagic DVD. It doesnt boot directly, yet with CD loader it boots fine, but I don't want to have to use CD loader everytime....any help would be greatly appreciated...
     
  2. Xman2004

    Xman2004 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ok heres my problem....i have swap magic DVD disc and it is badly scratched...it worked b4 when it was scratched but has suddenly stopped and wont load up. I know my PS2 laser is fine because it boots originals and the swap magic CD disc. My swapmagic CD disc, however does not play any of my DVD backups. However, when I insert CD loader and use that to boot all of my games including those with no fixes, they work. My question is...what the hell is wrong with my swapmagic DVD. It doesnt boot directly, yet with CD loader it boots fine, but I don't want to have to use CD loader everytime....any help would be greatly appreciated...
     
  3. Xman2004

    Xman2004 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ok heres my problem....i have swap magic DVD disc and it is badly scratched...it worked b4 when it was scratched but has suddenly stopped and wont load up. I know my PS2 laser is fine because it boots originals and the swap magic CD disc. My swapmagic CD disc, however does not play any of my DVD backups. However, when I insert CD loader and use that to boot all of my games including those with no fixes, they work. My question is...what the hell is wrong with my swapmagic DVD. It doesnt boot directly, yet with CD loader it boots fine, but I don't want to have to use CD loader everytime....any help would be greatly appreciated...
     
  4. Xman2004

    Xman2004 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ok heres my problem....i have swap magic DVD disc and it is badly scratched...it worked b4 when it was scratched but has suddenly stopped and wont load up. I know my PS2 laser is fine because it boots originals and the swap magic CD disc. My swapmagic CD disc, however does not play any of my DVD backups. However, when I insert CD loader and use that to boot all of my games including those with no fixes, they work. My question is...what the hell is wrong with my swapmagic DVD. It doesnt boot directly, yet with CD loader it boots fine, but I don't want to have to use CD loader everytime....any help would be greatly appreciated...
     
  5. Xman2004

    Xman2004 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ok heres my problem....i have swap magic DVD disc and it is badly scratched...it worked b4 when it was scratched but has suddenly stopped and wont load up. I know my PS2 laser is fine because it boots originals and the swap magic CD disc. My swapmagic CD disc, however does not play any of my DVD backups. However, when I insert CD loader and use that to boot all of my games including those with no fixes, they work. My question is...what the hell is wrong with my swapmagic DVD. It doesnt boot directly, yet with CD loader it boots fine, but I don't want to have to use CD loader everytime....any help would be greatly appreciated...
     
  6. Xman2004

    Xman2004 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ok heres my problem....i have swap magic DVD disc and it is badly scratched...it worked b4 when it was scratched but has suddenly stopped and wont load up. I know my PS2 laser is fine because it boots originals and the swap magic CD disc. My swapmagic CD disc, however does not play any of my DVD backups. However, when I insert CD loader and use that to boot all of my games including those with no fixes, they work. My question is...what the hell is wrong with my swapmagic DVD. It doesnt boot directly, yet with CD loader it boots fine, but I don't want to have to use CD loader everytime....any help would be greatly appreciated...
     
  7. nelswick

    nelswick Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    crazyyyyyy
     
  8. buck50

    buck50 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hey guy, you want to calm down a little bit.
     
  9. ctkillerz

    ctkillerz Guest

    LOL dude u must have 28.8 dial up huh
    ive done that i had 56k and it was so slow i kep clicking it LOL
     
  10. Xman2004

    Xman2004 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    holy shit......i dont have dial up....i have cable...but holy shit....SORRY bout that...my comp froze when i was clicking REPLY....didnt noe that happened....my apologies....again.....SORRY.....but does anybody have an answer?
     
  11. Yellers

    Yellers Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    LOL, you also had 5 topics of this on the forum, they must of been deleted.

    Ye mine just stoped working also, try this suggestion from the thread i started. Do me a favour and report back and tell me if it worked, nice one.

    "Mine only boots if i do this.
    Turn on ps2 with eject button.
    Insert swap magic
    Press reset button.
    It then boots before even getting to the browser screen."
     
  12. Xman2004

    Xman2004 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    actually....i just cleaned my swapmagic disc with a bit of disc cleaning solution and it works...i dont think i can hold out on it though....im thinking this whole swapmagic thing is a hassle and i might go get a mod chip...
     
  13. hutchy

    hutchy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    you don't need the DVD version if you do a TOC refresh.

    1. boot with SM CD
    2. Press eject and put in a high TOC game (Like Devil May Cry or San Andreas)
    3. Wait for the Refresh TOC message to dissapear and it'll say at the bottom to put in your backup.
    4. Put in your backup via slide card/flip top
    5. Start the game
     
  14. Xman2004

    Xman2004 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i folloed ur steps and it didn't work...when it said refresh TOC, the screen didn't move at all and by the way...wut does TOC stand 4...?
     
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2004
  15. nachoguy

    nachoguy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    TOC is the table of contents. its 650MB or lower for a cd, and much bigger for a dvd. with the swap magic cd it only allows up to around 650MB, so it cant read dvd games, so you refresh the TOC using the method he described(i believe it has to be an original silver bottom disc) and it then allows larger games to be booted.
     

Share This Page