1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HDadvance problem

Discussion in 'PS2 - Software boot discussion' started by Vscience, Apr 28, 2005.

  1. Vscience

    Vscience Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have been having a very annoying problem with HDAdvance. The disc wont even load. I have tried 2 different versions (both original bought versions) and neither work, it just keeps coming to the same "memory card and disc" screen on the PS2. It sometimes spends 20 seconds trying to load the HDD, or that is what it sounds like it is doing, but nothing happens. I don't get any error message or anything. If I try to run it without a HDD then it just goes straight to the memory card and gold disc screen.

    I can't think what I am doing wrong. I have tried 2 different HDD, and the latest one I have got is one from a backup specialist store so I know it s compatible. What can I be doing wrong ? Shoud I not at least see an error or menu screen from the actual HD Advance software ? Rather then the default memory card/gold disc screen that the PS2 has inbuilt ?

    I have even tried using swap magic and then the HD Advance disc, but it doesn't work. Could it be the network adapter that is faulty ? I bought it brand new and it was packaged up.

    Any help is much appreciated !! Thanks.
     
  2. Jlhfit

    Jlhfit Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    hmm. Did you try cleaning your laser. It might be dirty. when you select the gold disc on sceeen what does it do?
     
  3. crackAlex

    crackAlex Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    v, narrow down your list of potential problems.

    1. does your ps2 work with a regular dvd game? if so, it's not your laser. i've purchased at least 5 sets of hdadvance. some copies load on the first try. others give me a disc read error. i just eject then reload and it works (sometimes after two or three tries).

    2. check the compatibility list at h**p://www.hdadvance.com to see if your harddrive is supported. i've used all the maxtor models (up to 120) and they work fine. i've noticed the more games i've installed the longer it'll take to load. my 40gb loads much quicker then my 120gb.

    3. test your network adapter with a networked game. the adapter doesn't have any moving parts, so chances of it going bad are slim.

     
  4. Vscience

    Vscience Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for the help guys. I think I have totally ruined it now anyway. I opened it up to check the fuses as someone said to me some of the fuses may be blown. When I couldn't find the fuses I put the PS2 back together and now it wont read ANY discs, even though it did before (just wouldn't read the HDAdvance disc). I tried to clean the lense and move the white disc, but nothing has worked.

    I have now bought a new PS2 on Ebay and I will try it with that. I guess I will just throw out my old PS2 or something, unless it is worth anything to anyone who can fix it.

    I am taking my HDD and HdAdvance down to my friends place and will give it a test there to find out.

    Thanks for your help guys !!
     
  5. Jlhfit

    Jlhfit Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I know it may be more money to fork out ,but try HDloader, I know people say blah blha HDadvance is better but I use HDloader and have no problems, but I have a friend who has problems booting hdadvance sometimes..
     
  6. crackAlex

    crackAlex Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    [Jlhfit] Personally, I'll use any method that can make a game work. HD Advance didn't work with GOW, but a mod HDLoader does. SM33 works with just about everything, but it'll wear out the laser. It's just a matter of preference.

    [Vscience] Once you understand how HDAdvance/HDLoader works, try searching for "memory exploit" in the forums and learn how to make one. You can load HDLoader/HDAdvance/SM33 and a bunch of other elfs right off of the card.
     
  7. Jlhfit

    Jlhfit Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    agreed..
     
  8. muckipup

    muckipup Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I get exactly the same prob as Vscience. I would guess at their being a lot of variability around the quality of the HDAdvance product. I received mine today and neither the DVD or CD will load. I have one or two issues with other CDs in my PS2 but DVDs load fine. I can clearly see a manufacturing flaw in the base coating of the DVD which would cause it to fail.
     
  9. crackAlex

    crackAlex Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    muckipup: if you still can't get the DVD to load, eject the disc, rotate it a quarter turn and then load it again. It seams to work when all else fails.
     

Share This Page