1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

hdloader & hdadvance

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by scarface., Sep 3, 2004.

  1. scarface.

    scarface. Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i only found out about this whole ps2 hdd stuff this morning, i have a few quesions, but please answer me if i'm wrong.

    1. you don't need a chip, unless you want to transfer backup games to the hdd.

    2. i only need a maxtor hdd, a network adapter & a hdloader or hdadvance disc.

    3. games copy just fine from originals but require a swap magic or modchip to transfer backup games.

    4. it mentions all games have to be in a certain mode before they will boot from the hdd, but can they be set just the once, or do they have to be set every time. cause i have young kids and i think it will be quite confusing for them to have to swap the mode every time a game with a different mode is to be loaded, so can it be set to 3 for a certain game and say mode 1 for another. what i'm asking is can the mode be master set for each game or does it have to be set each time i play it. ?

    5. also no support for dual layer games, but can't these games be ripped from a dvd drive in a pc and stripped of all the bollocks, like we used to do with the dvd games that were burned to cd-r ? i'm aware a chip or swap magic is then needed to transfer the game to the hdd. has anyone tried this ?

    6. can the hdloader or hdadvance be removed from the ps2 disc drive after it boots the game, does the laser stop ?

    7. i read that ripped from a pc it is faster than being ripped from the ps2 drive, can the pc be linked to the ps2 via usb as the ps2 has 2 usb ports, using a certain software ?

    i like the idea of no discs for the kids to scratch, and faster loading times.

    thanks.
     
  2. foundmy

    foundmy Guest

    1. correct or you use the slidecard tool.

    2. correct.

    3. see 1.

    4. set just once, each game keeps its own setting.

    5. dvd9 rips might work, no tested.

    6. yes

    7. there is software out there that will allow you to use your PC dvd drive to mount into the hdloader compatible partition. so you don't have to do the ps2 to do all the installs.

    we got them, if you want the real 100% stuff.


     
  3. dlocke

    dlocke Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    hey scareface,

    Didn't you post this exact same topic in another thread? How do I know this? Because I answered all these questions for you over there too. Geez. What a waste of my time!
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2004
  4. scarface.

    scarface. Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    correct !

    posted in a new thread hoping to get many replies !
    and peoples experiences, i guess not.

    but cheers for your reply.
     
  5. scarface.

    scarface. Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    also someone must have tested transfering dvd-9 games to the ps2 hdd, do they work this way or not ?

    or do we have to wait for an updated software ?
     
  6. ballance

    ballance Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    there are a few people that claim they have gotten madden se dvd9 to work but i havent tried it. what ive heard is that hd loader is written only to recognize 4.3 gigs of data so dvd9 will not work. i hope that someone will figure out how to do dvd9 but for now there are few claims that dvd9 works.

    i have hd loader and the best thing is the smoothness of games. the load times are shorterand the laser never clicks. this may prolong the life of the system. but also know that some games do not work at all with this software.
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]HP Pav 714 2.33 ghz 1G ram
    Generic 8x dvd writer
    PS2 v9 DMS3 Modded
    Decrypter, Shrink, Alcohol,Ritek G04[/small]
     
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2004
  7. scarface.

    scarface. Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    also there must be a way to downsize dvd-9 games.

    like they used to do with games a few years ago, by cutting out the crap and then it would fit on a cd-r.

    what about doing this for the dvd-9 games then they should fit under 4.36 gb no problem ?

    has anyone tried this ?
     
  8. Megadeth

    Megadeth Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2003
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  9. scarface.

    scarface. Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    what both layers fully compatible ?

    will this also fully work with hdl dumb ?
     
  10. WCCMIKE

    WCCMIKE Guest

    last question can i buy a used hard drive and use it cause i'm sorta low on cash or you dont recomend it
     
  11. scarface.

    scarface. Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    should be fine, as hdloader/advance will reformatt the hdd for you.
     
  12. alixky

    alixky Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I wonder what different the original version of HDloader/advance and the version floating on internet. Is there anything special device to burn the disc. I read in this forum, someone said that PS2 need to have the mod chip or something else to make it read the burned version. I just wonder that how the original version work (those programs were made from a third party not SONY). I think this should be the answer for swap magic disc also.
     

Share This Page