1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help a Noob - Simple Answers Needed Desperately!

Discussion in 'PS2' started by dalec, Jul 19, 2003.

1. dalec

dalec Member

I've searched the forums and have found many long winded jargon filled answers that have not helped me as I am a raw noob when it comes to burning ps2 games.

I have just purchased a Slide Card mod and I haven't been able to test it yet as I haven't been able to burn any games!

Basically, I want to be able to burn a DVDROM PS2 game onto a Normal CDROM with a DVDROM/CDRW Drive.

I have read the tutorial which is extremely advanced and talks about hex editing and dummy files, I would like to know if there is an easier alternative. Perhaps some sort of compression device.

I have a DVD Writer as well but I do not want to keep purchasing blank DVDS all the time.

Please help me out I would be most grateful, I know these questions have been answered before but not in an easy to understand format which is the point of this thread. If someone could just some up a routine or set things straight in my head they'd be a life saver.

Thanks people.

Dale C

2. GlennT

GlennT Regular member

well, really, i don't think there is an "easy" way to do it, since in order to fit a DVD game onto a normal CD-R you have to either take the route of reducing the quality of the audio/video's or swap them for "dummy" files........either way, i'm pretty sure you need to edit the other files too, so that the game thinks it's all how it's supposed to be. i mean i'm no expert, but i looked into that dvd game "ripping" thing, and i found no easy way to do it..........there are set applications which are supposed to do everything for you, or at least have everything you need right there (for example Atlantis PS2 Backup Toolkit-----i think that's what it's called), but even with these you still need to know what you're doing interms of removing dvd checks, etc.