1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help Burning DVD Burned Games!!!

Discussion in 'PS2' started by TMAC1FAN, Jul 9, 2003.

  1. TMAC1FAN

    TMAC1FAN Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have tried the way above on the sticky but it didn't work, if I can figure out how to boot DVD's then I can burn my games to a DVD CD, but I can't so I have to burn it to a CD, CD booting works. I need to now exactly what an original DVD is, would the Devil May Cry Demo Disk work, please help.
     
  2. TMAC1FAN

    TMAC1FAN Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Her5e's wat I use

    i have a
    scph-30001
    serial u54259XX
    PT1542599XX
    gs version 2
    dmc (demo)
    knife trick
     
  3. Hanedrick

    Hanedrick Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    In order to boot DVD Backups I would recomend getting the swap magic boot disc. It comes with two discs actually one for booting cd backups and one for DVD backups.
     
  4. TMAC1FAN

    TMAC1FAN Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I dont have swap magic, and don't plan on spending the money on it either, so if you could please tell me how to do it with the knife trick, that'd be great thanks.
     
  5. darthnip

    darthnip Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    2,894
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    an original dvd is just an original retail game - not a backup. you can use any retail game to boot a backup as long as the retail game's TOC is larger than the backup you are trying to boot. GTA3 is good, or devil may cry. but yeah the swap magic discs are the best way to go. what method are you using, knife trick or swipe card or something?
     
  6. TMAC1FAN

    TMAC1FAN Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Knife trick, I know it works because my cousin did it, will DVD+R's even work on my PS2, what Version is it?, could u tell me my specs are up there.
     
  7. Hanedrick

    Hanedrick Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Your ps2 is either a version 4 or 5. Versions 5 and up read DVD+R's. Some version 4's can read dvd+r and some can't. To tell if you have a version 4 or 5 look at the back of your ps2 and take off the plastic thing that says expansion bay. If the back of that plastic thing has metal on it it's a version 4. If it just has plastic on the back of it it's a version 5.
     
  8. Hanedrick

    Hanedrick Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Here are the instructions using the gameshark with large dvd original for the no-solder modchip. It'll work for you. All you need to do is use the knife method when swaping the large dvd original and your backup.

    1. Put the dongle into slot 2.
    2. Load the AR2v2(GS2) disk.
    3. At the main screen press "Eject".
    4. Swap the AR2v2(GS2) disk for a BIG DVDrom ORIGINAL
    (It must be bigger than the DVDr you want to load).
    5. Select "CODES".
    6. Select "DAVE MIRRA".
    7. Press "X" to choose the cheat.
    EVERY CHEAT SHOULD BE ACTIVE.
    8. Press "Start".
    9. Select "Start game WITH codes".
    10. Press "X".
    A message will say "Too many codes active".
    The DVD original will now stop spinning.
    11. Now hold eject till the disk comes out, and swap with your backup DVD
    the disc will go back in after 5 seconds.
    12. Press "X".
    You will be taken back to the "CODES" screen.
    13. Press "Start".
    14. Select "Start game WITHOUT codes".
    15. Press "X".
    The DVDr backup will now boot _X_X_X_X_X_[small]You are probably wondering how I came up with the name Hanedrick. Well... the name Hanedrick is a very distorted version of my sisters name and I call her that whenever I want to get on her nerves which is like 24/7.
    Version 5 ps2.
    Fliptop Cover/smd[/small]
     
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2003
  9. TMAC1FAN

    TMAC1FAN Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Alright, I tried it and it didn't work, what doesn't make sense is my cousin has a Version 1 or 2 and it plays DVD-R's, I'm really confused, here's what happens, right at the part where you say to hold my finger on the eject button, it ejects but doesn't go back in, so I manually puss eject and then it freezes, and it won't work, I also tried the knife trick at the time u said to use it but the codes screen freezes. I'm confused what am I doing wrong.
     
  10. TMAC1FAN

    TMAC1FAN Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    O by the way I think my PS2 is Version 4, cuz that part is metal.
     
  11. billz

    billz Active member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,064
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    the insturtions you read are for a no-solder modchip but instead of pressing eject at all pull tray out with swap card instruction below on how to make and use card
    http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/15105

    just look for Swipe Card Info


     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2003
  12. TMAC1FAN

    TMAC1FAN Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I tried all that. It still won't work, so I'm gonna be DVDD ripping.
     
  13. Hanedrick

    Hanedrick Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    When I use that method to boot DVD backps my gameshark freezes aswell. All this time I thought it was just some weird problem that I only have, guess not. Anyway before you resort to ripping try this different method:

    1) Boot GS2 to main menu

    2) press eject once and remove the GS2

    3) insert a large original dvd and press eject to close

    (you must press the eject button in steps 2 and 3 not the knife trick)

    4) Select GAME SHARK CODES

    5) Select AQUA AQUA and either switch a code (any code) ON or OFF

    6) Press START and select START WITHOUT CODES

    7) press X on the INSERT DISK screen (this will make the codes update)

    8. As soon as the UPDATING CODES screen comes on the disk will stop spinning, using the knife method swap out the original game you used for your copied DVD-R and close the lid (You only have about 5 seconds to do this). The PS2 will automatically start to spin the disk and it should load.
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2003
  14. TMAC1FAN

    TMAC1FAN Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    For an original DVD game will FFX work.
     
  15. TMAC1FAN

    TMAC1FAN Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    K, I tried your way and it didn't work, I also used FFX as the original DVD game, so I don't know if thats right. Anyways do you have an AIM or email address so I can talk to you cuz, you are a big help. We can talk easier this way instead of having to wait.
     
  16. TMAC1FAN

    TMAC1FAN Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Oh, and I don't think it will work cuz I have a Version 4 PS2.
     
  17. Hanedrick

    Hanedrick Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    FFX will work as long as the size of the game is larger than your backup. The reason it didn't work is for two possible reasons (other than a bad copy) 1.)Like you said you have a version 4 ps2 and it just happens to be one of those versions 4's that don't read +r 2.) The size of your DVD original was smaller than your backup.
     
  18. TMAC1FAN

    TMAC1FAN Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Will my DVD-R's work on it, and the backup I've been trying to use is No One Lives Forever.
     
  19. TMAC1FAN

    TMAC1FAN Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Oh, and by the way, my No One Lives Forever backup is DVD-R
     
  20. Hanedrick

    Hanedrick Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    DVD-R's work on all version ps2's. All you need to play it is an original that is larger than it (along with the gameshark and knife method).
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2003

Share This Page