1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HELP! Disc read error

Discussion in 'Nintendo Gamecube - General discussion' started by madman_31, Apr 22, 2005.

  1. madman_31

    madman_31 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I keep getting a Disc read error on my backed up games on my moded Gamecube. I'm useing the Qoob Modchip.

    Whats the problem anyone know?
     
  2. Quezacotl

    Quezacotl Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    There's so many different choices that would cause that...
    -You have bad media(ritek, for example, is good, and princo bad)
    -you have not burned backups properly or game image is bad
    -you need to tweak your GC's laser(http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/138930)
    -bios is badly flashed(not so likely)
    -or GC is somehow just broken(laser scratched, disc clamp is crooked etc.)

    check those.
     
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2005
  3. madman_31

    madman_31 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks I'll try teaking my laser.

    The brands I Have tryed are Laser and UL TRAN
     
  4. Quezacotl

    Quezacotl Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    And by the way, when you burn, turn burn protection off, games work MUCH better.
     
  5. charis_k

    charis_k Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [bold]Quezacotl[/bold] I have to correct you:

    ...xyz..... for example, is good, and SOME princo bad).

    MORE PSECIFIC [bold]PRINCO R4.7 MINIDVD-R[/bold] WORKS GREAT SO FAR FOR ME(as the Gamecube FAQ v4 also indicates)! WHITH QOOB PRO v1.1 & UNTOUCHED LASER POT SO FAR!!!!!!!!
    Do you have any other experiense for this media and you stated this? Please share it whith us!
     
  6. charis_k

    charis_k Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16

    [bold]madman_31[/bold]
    Please BEFORE YOU start testing you POT,
    TRY RITEK AND SOME OTHER TESTED MEDIA.
    TESTED brands will be found in the "MOD THAT CUBE v4 FAQ" on page 140.
    Get FAQ HERE!!!!
    www.pxn-os.com/bb/viewtopic.php?t=2&sid=d5be59b0b6d908fdb87b5bf7c40cffae
    [bold]DON'T TOUCH YOUR LASER POT BEFORE YOU CHECK THESE MEDIA!!![/bold]
    RITEK, PRICO R4.7 MINIDVD-R and many more works great!!
    THE brands you tested is known that are NOT compatible!!!!!!!!!

     
  7. Quezacotl

    Quezacotl Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I have tried Princo full DVD too myself, with bad result. And many have said that it's not working.
     
  8. madman_31

    madman_31 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    whops I just start fidling the pot and I don't have voltage testers.

    carp!

    I try one of thouse Ritec Discs than when I buy one.

    My cube is a PAL(EUR) and is a Dol-1
     
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2005
  9. madman_31

    madman_31 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I roughly changed it back to it was then I did the disc check and it said "disc OK" then right after that is said disc read error.
    It does the same with originals but they play fine. Is this normal?

    This would mean that pot is at the right spot right?

    BTW what brands are known to be compatible other than Ritec and what type is better DVD-R or DVD+R?
     
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2005
  10. lyte

    lyte Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    All of a sudden none of my backup games were playing and I was like, "WTF???". I was getting pissed and I got some games to randomly work but not in succession. For some reason I booted the gamecube up without the lid down and all my games work again, no problem. Maybe this can help you.
     
  11. madman_31

    madman_31 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'll try but I don't think that will do anything though.

    Why is it that only some disks work with the gamecube backups and the PS2 can use just about any brand?
     
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2005
  12. madman_31

    madman_31 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Just to let you's all know I tryed different disc brand and it worked.

    Imation DVD+R worked great for me no DRE anymore.
    Thanks for all your help everone who helped.
     

Share This Page