1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help DMS4 Pro SE issue

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by solamax, Jan 30, 2007.

  1. solamax

    solamax Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I installed the DMS4 Pro SE on my V15 using a diagram from console.at. I am getting the message "This disc can not be played" when trying to play back ups. Any suggestions.
     
  2. steimy

    steimy Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    12,030
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    after you installed the chip, did you flash it with ToxicOS V0.41?
    Without that it will not play back up games.
    http://www.teamtoxic.com.cn/

    If not this is what you do.
    1. download the ToxicOS V0.41
    2. unzip it to get the bin & cue file
    3. burn the cue file to a CD
    4. stick it in your PS2 and start it and the disc should auto run and ask you to flash it. answer yes and flash it then reset the PS2 as instructed on screen.
    5. now try your game again.
     
  3. solamax

    solamax Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks will try it out
     
  4. solamax

    solamax Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I try burning to a Memorex CDR with Nero 7 Express @ 4x(just the Bin file) but the PS2 still will not read the disc. It tells me to insert a PS1 or PS2 format disc in a red screen. What am I doing wrong? Is it maybe the Memorex brand?
     
  5. ps2modgod

    ps2modgod Guest

    Let us know how it goes! Hopefully you didnt end up with yet another dud DMS4.
     
  6. raiderj

    raiderj Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I think you have to select the CUE file in order to burn a BIN/CUE setup. Do retail games work in the system? Have you tried a direct disc copy within Nero? If it's the Toxic OS disc you're trying to burn, make sure you can see the 3(?) files on the disc when you are done burning.

    I use Verbatim discs and never had a problem. Not sure about Memorex.

    The faulty DMS4 chips I've run across wouldn't even boot - just give me a black screen.
     
  7. solamax

    solamax Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    When I unrar the Toxic os folder, the only files I have is an "ELF", a "bin" and a "image file" along with a few text document. There is no "cue" file. I haven't try any retail games yet because I don't have any yet. I will get one tomorrow and try it out. Haven't try direct burn with Nero yet. Should it recognize the Bin file though?
     
  8. ps2modgod

    ps2modgod Guest

    Nero should burn the bin just fine, however if you downloaded Toxic from the official page the zip will have both an bin and a cue. You might also have an install error.
     
  9. raiderj

    raiderj Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I think all the BIN/CUE files do is put a couple files on a disc:

    ELF file (PS2 executable)
    Install Script

    The install script is what the chip looks for on boot up, and the script then tells the PS2 to run the ELF file, which actually updates the flash.

    Here's a link to the Toxic OS 0.41:

    Linky
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2007
  10. ps2modgod

    ps2modgod Guest

    Well yes you are somewhat correct. But its not a "install script" its a boot script that consists of a .CNF file and all it contains is this

    BOOT2 = cdrom0:\TOS_U041.ELF;1
    VER = 1.00
    VMODE = PAL

    There are two other files one is the TOS_U041.ELF which is ToxicOS and the other is ZZZ.ZZZ which is just a dummy file.

    Here is a direct link to ToxicOS 0.41 directly from the Toxic web site.

    http://www.teamtoxic.com.cn/downloads/ToxicOS-0.41.zip

    Have fun!
     
  11. steimy

    steimy Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    12,030
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    the image file is your cue file, that is what you want to burn.
    Cue files can show up on different systems with different icons depending on what program you have associated with that type of file. most of the time if you hold the mouse over the file it will say .cue

     
  12. solamax

    solamax Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Just burn the bue and bin file but still it did not read the disc. I am going to try another brand, prob Verbatim and try a original ps2 game
     
  13. raiderj

    raiderj Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Have you double checked your install? I believe the wires that control disc authentication are also ones that are typically soldered to those tiny vias.

    Those points should have alternate solder points on one of the larger motherboard chips, so you can verify a correct placement with those points.
     
  14. steimy

    steimy Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    12,030
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    you justed burned the image file right?
    You do not burn all the files, just load the image file and it will tell the burner what to burn and how to burn it.
    Set it to burn at a max speed of 24X too.

    It is possible that the PS2 does not read the discs as well, and Verbatim is a much better brand.
     
  15. ps2modgod

    ps2modgod Guest

    Small correction here. The image file is actually the bin, the cue tells the burner how to handle the bin file, which I'm sure your aware of.

    I hope he inst just burning the bin/cue as they are to the disc? Some people do get this confused. You can to open the cue (or the bin depending on your app) and have the app dissect the immage and burn the files accordingly to the disc. Nero works well, so does Alcohol 120%
     
  16. solamax

    solamax Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    will try that method and let you know what happens
     
  17. steimy

    steimy Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    12,030
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    yeah, i mistyped that. Do not do many Bin/Cue files these days since almost everything thee days is DVD based.

    But yes, you usually just take any CD burning program, load in the cue file only, then burn away.
    and i would suggest also you reset the burning speed which is normally set at max to about 24X just to get better quality
     
  18. solamax

    solamax Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks all, everything works fine now. Now I just have to rebuild a few ps2 games or get a HD.
     
  19. steimy

    steimy Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    12,030
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    why would you need to rebuild any games?
    With a DMS4 Pro SE chip you should not have to rebuild anything unless you just have a DVD9 game that you want to shrink down to DVD5 instead of just buying DVD9 discs and copying it to them.
     
  20. solamax

    solamax Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Don't have a dual layer burner, maybe I should invest in one huh?
     

Share This Page