1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help Dvd rom and dvd burner not recognised

Discussion in 'DVD / Blu-ray drives' started by Maany, Jun 26, 2007.

  1. Maany

    Maany Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i have a sony burner and a samsung dvd rom when i plug both of them in none of them work and dont come up in device manager and they dont show in my computer but when i unplug one and leave the other one in it works if unplug samsung dvd rom sony burner works if i unplug sony dvd burner samsung dvd rom works.

    Can anyone help Me

    Thanks
     
  2. 300bowler

    300bowler Regular member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    whats your jumper setting for both of the drives and and are you hooking them up to separate IDE slots or on the same one

    edit
    what type of PC do you have?
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2007
  3. Maany

    Maany Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have A Advent Computer How can i check my jumper settings.


    Thanks
     
  4. 300bowler

    300bowler Regular member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    you see on the back of the drive it will have a Master/Slave/Cable slot.

    are you connecting both drives on the same IDE slot?
     
  5. Maany

    Maany Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    you see on the back of the drive it will have a Master/Slave/Cable slot.

    are you connecting both drives on the same IDE slot?


    Yes i have the dvd rom master and burner slave and they are both connected to the same ide slot.
     
  6. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,072
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    128
    try both as cable select.
     
  7. GrandpaBW

    GrandpaBW Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    3,737
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    68
    And if what ddp suggests, doesn't work, try a new 80 wire/40 pin ribbon cable.
     
  8. Maany

    Maany Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ill try both as cable select and if it dosent work then ill try a new 80 wire/40 pin ribbon cable.

    Thanks
     

Share This Page