1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help! DVD_Lab_Pro 2 is causing me problems.

Discussion in 'Video to DVD' started by Headborg, Jun 18, 2007.

  1. Headborg

    Headborg Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I'm working on a music video for a contest...the submission deadline is closely approaching and fist i thought my video problem was in the encoding...but now i've narrowed the problem down to DVD_LaB_Pro_2.

    I have a music video and have made 3 types of audio...a pcm, dolby 5.1, and DTS. whenever I burn a simple movie( my video with just the pcm(wav) or dolby AC3(2-channel) it plays fine.

    But, when I try to author it with Menu + audio selection menu( with all three audio streams) the resulting DVD disc the video hangs up(pauses for brief 1/4 second intervels)...real
    bad...during playback it's ruining the video.....but still altogether the menus work fine and the whole vob is only 600mb.
    Any ideals what's causing this?
     
  2. Suba

    Suba Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2007
  3. Headborg

    Headborg Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    thnks for the reply...i'll probably use that link you provided to ask about another matter...I fixed the problem.....How? DVD_REBUILDER

    since noone here got back sooner with the right answer....I googled the problem..and came across a message where someone else suggested using Rebuilder's features for correcting poor bitrate allocation....I'm not sure if it was the REBUILDER or AVISYTH or CCE SP2.7 but I ran the Video_TS thru Rebuilder and now it's fixed! Plays perfect...where before it was glitchy, even hanging up. I mentioned earlier that I had about 3 motion menu's with video of different bitrates...plus 2 audio tracks...all different bitrates. I'll use that link you provided to ask if there's a hidden feature in DVD_Lab_Pro or a utility to view the bitrate allocation within a Video_TS....there should be some kind of IDIOT warning or safeguard feature...so boneheads like myself won't be pulling their hair out for
    2weeks trying to figure out the problems. Poor Bitrate Allocation!
     
  4. Suba

    Suba Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  5. Headborg

    Headborg Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i did some more hunting around the dvd_lab_pro interface....there is a bitrate viewer....but it only allows you to view specific files in your assets bin.....there's no bitrate viewer for the whole finished compiled VTS. ) Hmmm, 9800 kbps? max? looks like i got a movie(m2v) that's

    8027 average kbps + 1536 kbps audio streams( the pcm/wav & the DTS ) the
    dolby 5.1 is 448kpbs average....shit! just viewed another copy after re-encoding/trimming the end of my video...right where the glitches have been the bitrate on the video peaks out at 8375 kbps...and this one hangs up too! 8375+1536=9911 the other area where the glitch is the video is at 8232+1536=9768. What's this doing? jamming up the buffer?

    now my DVD Rebuilder is giving me buffer overflow error....it prepares & encodes but phase III rebuild...halts.
     
  6. toaddub

    toaddub Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Check out Bitrate Viewer - accepts MPEG streams, including VOB, and AVI files. It displays more info than just bitrate.

    3 types of audio - that's overkill! Not much room left for video bitrate. I would dump the PCM. I hope it's not a requirement for a contest. Probably all is needed is the AC3, which could reduce to 384kbps. Can DTS be optional? Check out the contest rules.

    If all 3 are required, then re-encoding is in order. Use the bitrate calculator to set the max and avg bitrate for the video after the combined audio bitrate.
     
  7. Headborg

    Headborg Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ok, please clarify something....the total bitrate can't exceed 9800 kbps? now, is this for the video + specific audio stream that's selected along with the video? or total for all 3 audio streams + video? I was under the impression all that counted was the audio/video streams PLAYING? this would explain why & where my video is hanging up...at those points where the VBR of the video peak out which when combined with the CBR of the audio is too High? But, if the other is true...I'll need to lower my video bitrate to around 6000
    so the total bitrate of my 3 audio streams when added won't exceed 9800? Why would the DVD_LaB_Pro even allow a BONEHEAD like me to author a DVD which clearly exceeds the bitrate? I'll checkout that bitrate viewer which allows viewing the whole VTS?
     
  8. Suba

    Suba Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    That what I was referring to, because I thought you want to see a graph with max, min and all. Bitrate Viewer will show it.
    On top asset bin show an average bitrate not max.
    Total bitrate is all audio + video, see this, bottom of the page, Maximum Bitrate.
    http://www.afterdawn.com/guides/archive/dvd_rebuilder_tutorial_advanced_page_6.cfm
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2007
  9. Headborg

    Headborg Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    thnks...that was a very useful guide page...i've been wondering where/how Rebuilder controls/adjusts the settings for my CCE SP 2.7...I guess this is where I can make some "tweeks"...but then remember to re-set later....Yep, whenever I rebuild a commercial DVD the results are always around 4.32 GB...and have always played great. But, I was reading over at ADOBE that this 9800 limit is just an Urban legend( rule of thumb when working with non-stamped dye/gel recordable media)....the DVD authored suscessful and exceeded 11000 kbps ..Only hangs up in 2 spots.

    Has anyone here ever suscessfully authored a DVD with only a Dolby 5.1 audio stream? I was under the impression that all dvd VTS must have a PCM audio or AC3 audio. Will a Surcode Dolby 5.1 fill the requirement? I've honestly never tried. It's suppose to be downmixable to 2 channel audio.
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2007
  10. Headborg

    Headborg Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    the reason I ask above is as ToadTub suggested, yet I did not respond(sorry) I WOULD just drop the PCM audio or replace it with a AC3(
    2-channel audio) except for the following reasons problems.

    1-Time( I'm down to the wire here with a submission deadline..and spent too much time creating a very nice complex audio selection menu with aftereffects & photoshop....and the button clearly reads PCM AUDIO....not enough time to re-make this menu & subpicture...etc. Much easier to just try and fix the damn bitrate. Faster to just reduce the video....but that also degrades the video quality ever-so slightly.
    2- the only quick 2 channel Dolby encoder i have is the damn TMPGEnc sound encoder plugin....and the audio quality is poor( better than BESWEET though).

    The video will be judged for Audio quality & video quality...and if "good enough" will be played publicly at the convention and I'm not sure what kind of audio setup they'll be using...hence i want to provide options, DTS, Dolby surround, and the PCM( which is probably the Best(lossless wav)
     
  11. toaddub

    toaddub Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Is the button not created as a layer in PS? This way it can be removed easily.

    The speakers at the convention are probably OK. All they do is turn on the volume, so it doesn't really matter which audio is chosen. The crystal clear sound is better heard in a closed environment. But it's up to you.

    Surcode Dolby 5.1 is better than TMPGEnc AC3 plugin and Besweet. Or you can try AftenGUI.

    If you want to keep all 3, then re-encode the video as suggested previously. DVD Spec allows only 10080 max (video + audio), 9800 for video. Use the bitrate calculator. So don't go overboard, give some room for fluctuation overhead or you will risk playback issues.
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2007
  12. Headborg

    Headborg Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    the text and text animation was created with aftereffects, the subpicture layer( which is actually what makes the whole menu work was
    created in photoshop (trying to match the same font/kerneling, etc as the visible text layer as possible) Next time, I'll know to design my
    buttons from Photoshop->aftereffects-> encore & maybe next time I'll have the whole production studio w/ that very useful dynamic link and have mastered the whole encore program. Right now, it's DVD_Lab that's handling my authoring projects.
    Yes, it's all suppose to be quick editable text...but....all still would have to have been re-rendered...imported..merged...tested. I needed to get it in mail.
    It's done ...I re-encoded the video to 6280 bps peak(max) and managed to squeeze by with a glitch free playing DVD( at least it played smooth on 2 of my players).

    I'm sure the speakers are fine too at the convention, I just wasn't sure how many they would be employing. The surcode is much better than Tmpgenc AC3( especially since it only allows for 2 channel AC3 )

    Tomorrow night I'll experiment with authoring a simple video with only
    a Dolby 5.1 audio track...see if it will meet the DVD audio specs, it's still a AC3 audio stream...
     
  13. toaddub

    toaddub Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Great! Good luck at the contest.
     
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2007

Share This Page