1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

[help] external HD to internal.. possible?

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by mikaru, Jun 11, 2007.

1. mikaru

mikaru Guest

ok, i bought a maxtor plus II 250gb external HD about 5 months ago, although its kinda slow, its still usable, but recently my friend got me a new one.. and i was thinking since my old one's kinda slowing down on my laptop, i was thinking.. is it possible to pull out the internal parts and put it in my dekstop PC? im not a pro so i dont want to try without any advice..

thanks in advance

2. wabashman

wabashman Active member

yea, you should be able to just pull the HD out of the case, and then put it into your desktop. i did this with one of mine. you might have to put it into slave or cable select mode though.

3. mikaru

mikaru Guest

thanks for the fast reply.. but forgive me for my noobness.. but do u happen to have tutorials or know a site that has one regarding the slave and cable select mode? i dont wanna mess up my pc..just being sure.. thanks again

4. MasterChu

MasterChu Guest

Moving to Langjökull in Iceland - so all the info I posted is moving with me!

Last edited by a moderator: Jun 11, 2007
  5. mikaru

mikaru Guest

thats really clear... i get it now.. but ,my hdd doesnt seem to have this part.. and does local shops sells jumpers or are they only available on the net?

[​IMG]

6. MasterChu

MasterChu Guest

7. mikaru

mikaru Guest

so that means.. it cant be converted to internal HDD? i already got the jumpers... the only problem is that IDE connection, that pic is exactly what i have btw..

8. MasterChu

MasterChu Guest

9. ddp

ddp Moderator Staff Member

mikaru, edit your sig to conform to forum specs ASAP.
    2. An image-only signature should be less than 50kb in size, and be at most 500 pixels wide and 200 pixels tall.