1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HELP!!!!!! hd seen in bios but not in windows

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by darkradar, May 3, 2007.

  1. darkradar

    darkradar Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have a friend with a windows 98 computer and he wanted me to install a hardrive in his Compaq desktop for him. I had already done this once with Win XP so I knew how. I hooked it up, but then I realised that my hardrive didn't have those things on it that tell it if it is a master or slave harddrive.(It is a used one I pulled out of another computer I hadn't used for a year) I used those things for another harddrive that didn't have it. I plugged it in anyway and the bios detected it but when I went to My Computer in Windows 98, it wasn't there! Is it because I have to install a driver for it? Is it because it doesn't know if it is a master or slave? I don't know. Please HELP!!!!!!
     
  2. ffg7

    ffg7 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    if the bios sees the drive but windows doesn't then is the drive fdisked(partitioned like in xp) & formated?
     
  3. Indochine

    Indochine Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,485
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    "those things" are called jumpers. ask around for some off a scrap drive or buy a bag from a computer hardware store. You need one.

    PS stupid thread title.
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2007
  4. ffg7

    ffg7 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    a western digital drive if used by itself on it's data cable does not need a jumper.
     
  5. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,071
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    128
    title edited
     
  6. Indochine

    Indochine Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,485
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Maybe so, but do we know what brand it is?
     
  7. ffg7

    ffg7 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    the fact that it is seen in the bios without any jumpers leads me to think it is a wd drive.
     

Share This Page