1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

help!! I think the file should fit on one disk but it wont.

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by maddbeatz, Oct 30, 2004.

1. maddbeatz

maddbeatz Member

i am very new to burning anything other than a standard music disc. I have been using bit tornado for a bit now and have some really good files I would like to convert to VCD or anything I can play on my standalone DVD player. I have created full movies on DVD-R with ISO files on 1 disc as well as shorter length VCDs 1 disc. My big issue is this. A lot of the movies I have are in AVI format and are already split into 2 discs. Fine!! I have settled for having to burn movies onto two discs but......usually both of the files are still a little to big for one disk. They are usually marked as anywhere from 650-720 Mb, but Nero says they are too large to fit. I have been reading about overburning techniques and maybe this is the answer or is it to change the format of the file. Is Nero the problem?? Also i am wondering if you can burn multiple of these files onto DVD-R because I think they hold about 4.7 GB. i have spent hours searching forums and guides and have slowly been learning through trial and error. I am tired of downloading software and visiting sites that want to sell me software. I know these quesions have been asked before but I am in need of someones personal experience

Thanks

2. bigorange

bigorange Active member

maddbeatz,

It sounds like you either have Nero in CD mode instead of DVD mode, or you are trying to burn to CD media instead of DVD media. Very seldom would a "movie only" downloaded file would be to large for 1 DVD disc.

Have you tried NVE 3 to load these files, it will convert them to DVD compliant files and enable you to create chapters and build a menu with which to navigate your DVD and also compress the files if too large for the media.