1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HELP! Magic V killed 3 PS2s!!!

Discussion in 'PS2' started by Hotwire, Mar 28, 2004.

1. Hotwire

Hotwire Member

I have installed the Magic V in 3 different systems and all of them are having disc read errors! I have tried adjusting the laser voltage, removed the chips, etc, but they still aren't working!

Has anyone had the same bad luck? Any suggestions or help?

Thank you.

2. account

account Guest

you might want to think about paying someone to install that chip into your ps2 if you are haveing that many problems with it and wrecking 3 ps2's.

i have installed a magic V into a couple of consoles with no problems at all.

check out my site http://jgames.50megs.com

3. nrk4594

nrk4594 Regular member

4. Hotwire

Hotwire Member

It's not that I don't know what I'm doing. I have a degree in electronics, working in a completely static free work environment, soldering w/ high quality MetCal equipment, working under a soldering microscope, etc etc. I have followed the diagrams to a "T" and still no luck. *EDIT - My mod looks exactly like the picture provided by china magic*

I have a Ver 9 w/ absolutely no problems after the mod, a Ver 7 that is somewhat flaky, and 2 Ver 5, and a 7 that have disc read errors. Just thought I would get a little more help than above.

Has anyone else had these problems and successfully brought their ps2s back?
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]mod of death dealer[/small]

Last edited: Mar 29, 2004
  5. wcpir8

wcpir8 Guest

What do you do to achieve a static free environment?
    I know that you not suppose to work on carpet.
    What about using latex gloves?

Any other tip would be appreciated.....

6. darthnip

darthnip Moderator Staff Member

I had the same problem with the magic V but it turns out i wasn't getting one of the ribbons back in all the way, so i got nothing but disc read errors until i fixed it.

7. Hotwire