1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

help! new to the process

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by ron613, Jan 13, 2005.

1. ron613

ron613 Member

I am new to this burning process. I downloaded dvd decrypter, I can now copy dvd's to the hard drive but it places them in a folder with a .vod file extension. How do I get the files that were copied to the hard drive to burn onto a dvd? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited: Jan 13, 2005
  2. sakmd

sakmd Member

hi ron...

here's a link to afterdawn member bbmayo's website w/ various guides that will help get you started and on your way (thanks bbymayo)...

http://home.comcast.net/~bbmayo/

also, here's a link to the guides page on this site with more info...

http://www.afterdawn.com/guides/

if you don't have the latest version of dvdshrink (another free program) you should download that as well.

3. ron613

ron613 Member

Hi sakmd, I have the guide from afterdawn's website...I can copy to the hard drive ok but they are .vob files. the guide says to find the file name with .dvd extension and select it to write to a dvd-r, but there is no file with that extinsion. All the file extensions are .ifo or .vob. this is where I am lost. Thanx for your input and any further info would be GREATLY appreciated.

4. jim_dandy

jim_dandy Active member

hi ron
    You used dvd decrypter in the file mode, and it sounds like your using a guide for the iso mode.
    If your using decypter for your burner,your going to have to do it over in the iso read/iso write mode,if the dvd is small enough.
    dvd decrypter cant burn in the file mode.
    If you have nero,heres a good guide to burn your vob files:http://www.dvdshrink.info/nero-video.php

Last edited: Jan 13, 2005
  5. sanjo

sanjo Member