1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HELP! newbie here can't access HD after Compaq QuickRestore CD fudged partitions

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by nmr59, Jan 22, 2005.

1. nmr59

nmr59 Member

In Dec. my Presario 5400's orig. 20G died.
    I bought/formatted a new 120G HD w/Win98 while I was waiting for Compaq to ship the XP QuickRestore Cd's.
    Arriving days ago, I inserted QR Disk1. As it ran I saw it creating partitions and didnt pay much attention. Was prompted to insert a floppy to create a restore diskette. Did so, removed it, pressed "any key to continue" and got a Compaq Error # BUT DIDNT RECORD THE ERROR# !! I "pressed any key to continue" and up came a screen with "WAITING..." at the top... where the screen hung for an hour.

Contr/Alt/Del wouldn't reboot the pc so I used the on/off to restart. From then on, all I can get the PC to do is go into BIOS and read the first string of commands from an .exe CD.

At boot, I see the Compaq logo. CD-rom spins, light's on for 20 or so seconds then lights out, as does floppy. Harddrive spins for 20 or so sec, light remains on, cursor flashes at upper left of screen.
    Screen rez is probably less than 600x800 as the <F10> option reminder is nearly off the bottom right screen.

BIOS: IDE DPS tests ok.
    IDE Primary 0; CD-rom IDE secondary; Diskette Legacy Diskette 0.
    Storage Options are all enabled.
    Boot order: CD, diskette, HD.
    All other settings look familiarly ok as I went into BIOS after I formatted it & installed 98.

I insert QuickRestore CD1, CD-rom light flashes 5x but get no executable line of command or action. Just the flashing cursor at top left.
    I insert the Seagate format/utility CD and see STARTING CALDERA DR-DOS... as the CD-rom spins. It stops after a few secs, hangs on that screen w/the HD light lit.