1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help! Original discs load fine, but copies and the setup disc won't! (wiikey)

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii / Wii U' started by dmainzman, Jul 17, 2007.

  1. dmainzman

    dmainzman Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I recently tried to install the wiikey myself, and failed, pulling up two pads in the process. I then asked my engineer friend if he could help me solder it then back to the IC legs. He did, and I inspected his job incredibly closely, and it looked pretty much problem-free to me. No shorts or anything that I could see.
    So I put the thing back together, and now it plays my original games fine... wiisports that came with it and call of duty that I got at bestbuy... but when I tried to load a copy of Elebits that i downloaded and burned, it just sat at the Unable to read disc message. I then tried the 1.2 setup disc... also nothing. I then tried 1.0 and 1.1 as well, and still nothing.
    Now I'm completely stumped... I can't figure out what the problem is. It can't be the chip, can it, since the wii still works with it in (I read other threads where people with bad chips or bad clones couldn't even load original games while the chip is connected) so that leads me to believe that it must be something else... perhaps the way I'm burning.

    Here's what I've been using:

    I'm on a MacBook pro (intel core duo) and I've been using Apple's built in DiskUtility to burn the discs (which has worked great for burning other DVD's in the past, like for PC games)

    I've tried both Sony DVD-R which say 1x to 8x, and I've also tried Verbatim DVD-R which say 1-4x.

    I've been trying burning at both 2x and 4x...

    ummm... can't think of any other information that could help get to the bottom of this.

    Thanks for any help! I'm getting desperate...
     
  2. NDarkness

    NDarkness Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,976
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Is your chip a D2B or D2C?
     
  3. dmainzman

    dmainzman Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    This is a bit embarassing, but I have no idea... is there any way I can find out short of opening up my wii again?

    Edit: scratch that, I just looked at the website where I bought it from (ModchipCentral... authorized wiikey distributer :p) and they just seem to be selling D2B, so it must be D2B.

    Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2007
  4. NDarkness

    NDarkness Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,976
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I think you're gonna have to open it up again.

    [​IMG]
    Check on that big black square if it says D2B or D2C.
     
  5. dmainzman

    dmainzman Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yeah, it's D2B (see above edit).
    I also dug up a picture i took of it before i sealed it up and i can just make it out.
     
  6. NDarkness

    NDarkness Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,976
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    You know I'm not talking about the Wiikey right? I'm talking about the chipset that is on the Wii itself.

    But if it's D2B, then try burning with ImgBurn at 4X speed. If that doesn't work, then I guess your Wii does not like - so try +Rs.
     
  7. dmainzman

    dmainzman Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ohh, sorry, my fault... I don't know much about the tech inside the wii... I'm more of a software kind of guy.

    Anyway, um... when my friend routed the wires to the IC legs, he put a couple dabs of hot glue on the black chip your handy picture is pointing to, so it's obscuring the lettering... but on the bigger black chip above that on the board says GC2-D1.
    And the legs weren't cut... I got the wii fairly early, so I don't think they were implimenting their anti-mod controls yet... back in late January.

    Thanks.

    Edit: Sorry, I guess that one has nothing to do with the number you're looking for. I'll crack it open some time tomorrow or the next day and check... but in the mean time... let's assume it isn't D2C, and therefor IS moddable... what could be some other possible problems/solutions here?
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2007
  8. dmainzman

    dmainzman Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    bump...
    I wanna know if anyone else can offer any help before I open it up again to check the chipset. I'm pretty sure it's NOT one of the un-moddable ones.
     
  9. jnaks

    jnaks Regular member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    seems to me that it's probably just a media/burn issue. if you can't load the setup discs, you won't be able to load many of the backup discs (i think you mentioned some out of region games). the setup disc will allow you to turn region control off. if you haven't burned a proper setup disc, you haven't found the right media/burning technique yet. read the readme.txt file included with wiikey setup 1.2 and make sure you follow the steps to creating a setup disc .iso file. use disc utility to burn the image and try and use something like taiyo-yuden DVD-R x16 (Verbatim's discs are basically the same thing) and try a converse like maxell discs. Aparently there is a lot of variety on which discs individual Wii's prefer, so try different media.
     
  10. dmainzman

    dmainzman Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks... I'll go buy a few small packs of different DVD's soon and try them out... hopefully that's the issue.
    Does that affect the setup disc too? Because I've been reading a lot where people are having difficulty with their medium, although the setup disc still works.

    And I've limited the game backup burns I've tried to US NTSC, same as my wii, to eliminate any other potential problems to narrow it down.

    Anyhoo, thanks for your help. More tips would also be appreciated in case different DVD's don't work :D
     
  11. jnaks

    jnaks Regular member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    that's pretty much it. the newer macs (G5+) have a pretty good burner to them (laptops and desktops). It's my belief that the burner should match the media and vice versa, so you'll probably want faster media if your burner can handle it. the disc utility does a pretty good job of burning it at your best available speed. i've only had 1 or 2 coasters using taiyo yuden DVD-R 16X TYG03. lower the burn speed, if absolutely necessary, by clicking the blue down arrow on the right of the layer that pops up when you click burn.

    while it is possible for one disc to work (say the setup disc), and another (of the same brand) to fail, i feel it is usually coincidence.
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2007

Share This Page