1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help out a Total newbie?

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by chopsman, Jan 11, 2004.

1. chopsman

chopsman Guest

Hey guys/gals...I am a total newbie to DVD back up.I was wondering if you nice people could help me out with a few questions, before I take the plunge.
    Im not looking to do anything fancy I just want to back up movie only to DVD-R. I do want descent quality back ups though.(I havent even purchased a drive yet but I already posted that elsewhere.)
    1.Should I go with DVD Shrink 3.1?
    2.What software should I burn with.
    Can you reccommend any freeware burning programs?
    3.Or should I go all out on DVD X Copy Platinum?
    4.I have NTI CD/DVD creator platinum on my PC will this work.
    I have heard good and bad about almost every program on these forums, please share any experience with me.

2. BauerCTU

BauerCTU Guest

i have used DVD Shrink for quite a while now and found it fantastic and easy for beginners. prog i use for burning is Nero6. as for DVD X copy id stay away from it personally

3. fasfrank

fasfrank Active member

4. ScubaPete

ScubaPete Senior member

chopsman,

In your order here we go, hang on the ride is short - - but it is sweet - ->

1. We have found some small issues with DVDShrink 3.1. We would like to see some video so we know better what we are doing but those who have experience with this program can work right through - for the "Newbie, I suggest DVDShrink 3.0 Beta 5 excellent program easy to use and the switch to 3.1 will be very easy when you are ready. Who really cares though, they are both free -

2. The Nero program offers just sooo much for the $$$ it's almost silly to go elsewhere, especially for the guy just starting out.

2.(a.) Burnatonce is free but Nero is worth the money.

3. No need to go there, they already have my money.