1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HELP !! please // Blank PSP menu

Discussion in 'Sony PSP - Mod and firmware discussion' started by chatambee, Mar 2, 2007.

  1. chatambee

    chatambee Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have a white 1.5 psp
    I used Themepsp to flash flash0 with a custom menu
    After it was was finished flashing
    it returned to the main menu and it was blank
    i rebooted the psp and it still returned to a blank menu
    Only thing that shows is the background,date,time and battery level
    i can't see any of the menus
    please help me
     
  2. mrgooey

    mrgooey Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,058
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    ur screwed, u need a recovery mode for 1.5. If u didnt install it then ur dead.
     
  3. chatambee

    chatambee Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
  4. superduty

    superduty Guest

    Which files did you replace. if you have anything on the screen then your OK. Just put the original files back in. If you don't have them then dump the 1.5 firmware and flash the topmenu_plugin and others, if any, back into flash0.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 2, 2007
  5. chatambee

    chatambee Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I replaced the topmenu_plugin.rco file
    "Just put the original files back in. If you don't have them then dump the 1.5 firmware and flash the topmenu_plugin and others back into flash0"
    How do I do that ?
    I can't access the menu or go anywhere so how do I do that ?
    please help
    thanks
     
  6. superduty

    superduty Guest

    When in the menu can you hear anything or select any of the missing icons? If so use sound to nav. your way through the XMB and reflash just like you did before. If you can get into the game folder in the XMB the easiest way I think would be to use usbsss. Friend did same once but will have to get back to you with his solution. Go to Psphacks and ask around. Lot of people still on 1.5, someone will know.
     
  7. chatambee

    chatambee Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I'm pretty much frozen when in the menu place
    can't really do anything
     
  8. hexitnow

    hexitnow Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    6,109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Dont listen to superduty......that will cause your PSP to fully brick. if you have a custom firmware PSP you CANT just drop the dump files from a 1.5 data.psar to flash0 and have a 1.5.....they need to reflash and certain preparations need to be done before the installation....which is why the recovery option is there. Use my winstaller itll guide you thru the process and it contains all the needed files.
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2007
  9. chatambee

    chatambee Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I don't have a custom firmware
    It's just a plain 1.5 that is frozen because of a corrupt topmenu_plugin.rco file.
     
  10. pspstig

    pspstig Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I would do like superduty said. You need to find a way to mount the flash0 via USB and replace the corrupted topmenu_plugin with an original one. You can either get one by ussually googling it or you can dump sony 1.5 firmware with Psardumper. As for accessing the usb when the screen is blank and you have no actions present, I don't know. Hope this helps :)
     
  11. The_Arc

    The_Arc Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I'd be more inclined to listen to Hexit, hes hardly ever wrong lol.

    And seriously, use his winstaller its awesome
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2007
  12. stevenps2

    stevenps2 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,543
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    but he hasnt got custom firmware so dont think it will work,as for what will work im not sure
     
  13. gerikoh

    gerikoh Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i'd say the best way of not complicating things is to return it and have it replaced. :D
    there hexit, i bet you can't come-up w/ that one bwahahaha :p
     
  14. chatambee

    chatambee Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    aww can't return it
    got it from ebay
     
  15. chatambee

    chatambee Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    is there any way to access my psp's flash0?
     
  16. The_Arc

    The_Arc Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Touché, i really must learn to read properly lol.

    Would it not be possible to overwrite the custom menu with a vanilla one, removed from a working 1.5 psp? Not sure how you would get hold of it though...

    Check the folder of the program you used, occasionally they backup the original file before overwriting it.
     
  17. chatambee

    chatambee Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    is there any way to autoboot an app at my current state
    if i can just get past the menu screen
    i can fix it with an app

    btw i do have another psp
     
  18. chatambee

    chatambee Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    is there any custom firmware that can simply be installed into memory stick?
    i have another psp so if there was such custom firmware
    then i could install it using my memory stick on the other psp
    and then using that memory stick, i could try to access recovery menu on my semi bricked psp
    would this be possible ?
     
  19. gasconade

    gasconade Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    862
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    the short answer would be no...
     
  20. chatambee

    chatambee Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    why would it not work ?
    is the recovery part installed in flash0
     

Share This Page