1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HELP please dvd+rw issue

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by keshwala, Nov 28, 2007.

  1. keshwala

    keshwala Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i got a dvd+rw cd, so that means i can format the cd again and again. the memory is 4.7gb but i put some files on it to transfer at my friends house and when i come home to erase the files on the 4.7gb dvd+rw disc i am only left with 1.88gb how come??? i thought dvd+rw discs you can format it and be left with 4.7gb again??? is there something i did wrong?? :(

    Please help. Thanks in adavced :)
     
  2. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,504
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Which program do you use to erase the disk?
    This is a DVD-RW after being erased by 'ImgBurn'


    [​IMG]
     
  3. keshwala

    keshwala Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i used ashampoo, i click to erase disk then it says disc can not be erased
     
  4. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,504
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Sounds like a disk problem?
    Some software (e.g Nero or ImgBurn) offers the options of a 'Quick' or 'Full' erase.
    The full erase takes much longer, but can recover a problematic disk.
     
  5. gurnard

    gurnard Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    hi :)

    i'd be inclined to download ImgBurn (which is free.)as attar suggests, never failed me on erasing an rw yet.

    there's an understatement lol. it seems to take forever :)
     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2007
  6. keshwala

    keshwala Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    but i tryed with 3 different discs from different companies but none of them seem do erase. do you know when you first use the empty disc are you ment to format it first???, or something like that, my mate told me this

    edit: i tryed to erase the disc with the programm that come with your computer all you have to do is right click and press format, i have also tryed ashampoo dvd but i cant erase the disc :(
     
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2007
  7. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,504
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
    The disks don't have to be formatted before first use.

    Download and install 'ImgBurn'.

    Insert a known used disk.

    Run ImgBurn.
    At some point, ImgBurn will indicate that the disk needs erasing.

    Click 'Mode' 'Write'
    Click 'Tools' 'Drive' 'Erase Disk'

    While your there, do a ['Tools' > 'Drive' > 'Check for firmware updates']


    http://www.afterdawn.com/software/cdr_software/cdr_tools/imgburn.cfm
     
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2007
  8. keshwala

    keshwala Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    attar your a legend. i found out that my disk was not dvd+rw bu dvd+r. thats why i couldnt erase data duh. im so stupid. thanks for you help mate!!!
     
  9. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,504
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Okey-dokey.
     

Share This Page