1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

help please!!! ver9 ps2 down n out

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by peterbob, Jan 31, 2005.

  1. peterbob

    peterbob Guest

    Im not new to modding ive done my ver5 (easy) but i tried install of the neo12 chip on my ver9. Long story short is after testing all my solder points over and over and checking everything i could think of , I gave up and decided to remove the chip to see if i could get my ps2 to work without the chip. OF COURSE IT DIDNT WORK! Now the ps2 lights up but doesnt boot , black screen. ive check anything i could think of , but still not working. this ps2 ver9 is for a show truck and I have got to have it reinstalled back in my yukon by show season and there is more i have to do to this thing before its ready .but thats in another thread. the point is i really need help with this thing please.
     
  2. SCE

    SCE Guest

    if you are soldering it directly to the bios pads on the back of the board try running wires to them instead and put the chip next to it .
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 14, 2005
  3. cz0840

    cz0840 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Use the wire briad that should have came with your mod-chip and remove all the solder. That should do the trick.

    Do not hold the solder iron for too long to the BIOS chip or damage may result!!!

    - Kurt
     
  4. peterbob

    peterbob Guest

    thanx guys for your help, but took the chip off and the ps2 still dont work. any1 have a link to fuse diagrams? or know why I get a black screen? lights are on but nobodies home. thnx again.
     
  5. SCE

    SCE Guest

    you have a solder bridge somewere
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 14, 2005
  6. peterbob

    peterbob Guest

    I checked all my solder points esecialy around the back of the board opposite the bios chip. On the ver5 there was a fuse onthe board , but I cant find it on my ver9. Do they use different fuse on the newer boards? any1 got any info on the ver9 fuses or think the bios down and got a solution. also thnx SCE for the input about the chip; I will try to run wires on the back of the bios instead of direct soldering. If I can get this ps2 to work without the chip. and thnk you all for your help so far. anyone interested in this project please search afterdawn for "remote mount" to see how this project works out.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 1, 2005
  7. peterbob

    peterbob Guest

    I found a site with the fuse diagrams. I checked them all. all ok. I have gone over the board a hundred times there are no bridges anywhere. Please someone help. Any one know where to get a ver 9 or 10 new or used? besides ebay . I am about to give up.
     
  8. SCE

    SCE Guest

    are u sure you did not damage a via ? bad la chip possably .
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 14, 2005
  9. peterbob

    peterbob Guest

    maybe how would i know? I have since put the thing away for now. But i still need to fix it. thank you all.
     

Share This Page