1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help please

Discussion in 'DVD Shrink forum' started by stevewiz6, Apr 18, 2005.

  1. stevewiz6

    stevewiz6 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have a LG GSA-5160D 16x DVD+R, 8x DVD-R dvd burner, external. when i use dvd decrypter, the speed reaches up to 8.6x when putting a movie on the hard drive. However, if i then open dvd shrink and attempt to to encode, the rate does not pass 1000 kb/s. Now i know it is not the burner or the usb port, as i just upgraded both of them. Also, if i use the usb 1.1 port, then the rate is 900 kb/s. If i just use dvd shrink without dvd decrypter, i have the same speed problem.

    The speed was up around 4000-5000 kb/s last week when i was using it.

    Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance!
     
  2. jmet

    jmet Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    First off lets check your DMA settings - How ? do this -> Go to Control Panel> System> Hardware Tab> Device Manager> IDE ATA/ATAPI controllers> Right Click Primary IDE channel (and Secondary IDE channel after you finish with Primary)> Properties> Advanced Settings Tab> Transfer Mode or go here: http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?t=101616

    Do the above from both "Primary & Secondary IDE channels".

    I (We) and you need to look at whats in both "Transfer Mode" and "Current Transfer Mode". Screen shot below is what I'm talking about.
    [​IMG]

    You can also look here for some other solutions: http://sniptools.com/vault/getting-back-to-dma-mode-in-windows-xp.htm

    If it is in "PIO" mode. Click the "Driver" tab, and uninstall the driver. Then reboot. Upon rebooting windows will automatically reinstall the driver and it should go back to "DMA" mode.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2005
  3. stevewiz6

    stevewiz6 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    under primary IDE, for device zero it is Ultra DMA Mode 5
    for device one, it is Not applicable

    under secondary IDE, for device zero, it is multiword DMA Mode 2
    for device one, it is Not applicable

    They are all DMA if available.

    I also tried unistalling them and rebooting as well as removing the registry keys that were suggested from the other website.

    Thanks for your help!! :)
     
  4. jmet

    jmet Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Ok, "Not Applicable" just means there is no device attached to that channel.
     
  5. stevewiz6

    stevewiz6 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    itz still at 1200 though... any more suggestions? :-|
     
  6. jmet

    jmet Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Is this on the analyzing screen or the encoding screen?
     
  7. stevewiz6

    stevewiz6 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    itz happening on both screens
     

Share This Page