1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help! Problem with pc

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by andsteele, May 26, 2007.

  1. andsteele

    andsteele Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Last december, I built a computer. Now I am having some problems with it. It keeps restarting! Its so frustrating. I have ruled out the possibility of software problems and the power supply unit. It has happened hafe way through installing 2 different programs which can cause problems for it. There have been times when I have removed the cpu heatsink. I put thermal grease on it when I built it but never re-applied it. I don't know if this could cause it or not. Please help! lol

    By the way, I have an AMD Althlon 64 x2 3800+ (am2) if that helps.
     
  2. andsteele

    andsteele Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Oh, and it also seems to happen when the compuyer is under a heavy load i.e. installing software.

    Sorry, forgot to mention that
     
  3. REAM

    REAM Guest

    you have to apply thermal paste EVERYTIME you remove the heatsink from the CPU
     
  4. andsteele

    andsteele Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    So do you think that is the main proplem? Will I have caused damage to the cpu?
    Thanks
     
  5. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,092
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    what is the temp of the cpu? check in the bios under hardware monitor or something like that
     
  6. andsteele

    andsteele Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I will put some more thermal compound on it soon. I will post back if it still happens.
     
  7. andsteele

    andsteele Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I just put some fresh thermal compound on my cpu. It seems to be working ok, I will post back if I have any more problems.
     
  8. andsteele

    andsteele Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ARGH! IT RESTARTED AGAIN! What is wrong with it??

    HELP!

    PLEASE!
     
  9. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,092
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    check the capacitors on the motherboard that they are flat topped & not domed.
     
  10. andsteele

    andsteele Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    They are all flat topped. I really need help with this, starting college soon and I can't afford to have a broken computer!
     
  11. andsteele

    andsteele Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I just remembered, a while ago the computer wouldn't start up and the hard drive made some strange noises. It seems to fix itself and that never happened again. I don't know if that helps.
     
  12. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,092
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    do you have a spare hd to try out with?
     
  13. andsteele

    andsteele Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yeah I have an old Maxtor 40gb hard drive that works, but the restarting is fairly random so I might not be able to figure out if it is the hdd. Before I try it out, could the hard drive cause the system to restart. Or is it not likely? Also, I have installed windows xp many times on this machine, last time, it said I couldn't activate it again, but when I called it was activated over the phone. Would I be able to activate it again? I need to know before I try.
     
  14. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,092
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    just tell them that your hd is causing problems so you replaced it.
     
  15. andsteele

    andsteele Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Okay, thanks so much for the help. I will try it tomorrow when I have some free time. Damn it, I might have to buy a new hard drive. Oh well.
     
  16. andsteele

    andsteele Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    *Sighs* My mum threw it out...sorry i'm being so difficult. I'll see if any of my friends have any I Can borrow. By the way, what are the chances that the HDD will be the problem?
     
  17. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,092
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    trying to see if another hd & a fresh install still has the same problem or not.
     

Share This Page