1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HELP: Removing a mod chip

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by alcohilic, Oct 5, 2004.

  1. alcohilic

    alcohilic Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Alright first off im sorry if this is not the right spot to place this question. With that said, the problem im having is i cannot play online games with a mod chip in my ps2, so i wish to take it out, BUT, due to the lack of experiance with any hardwhere or electronics (it was installed by someone who has moved)i havent a clue how, so if anyone has any imput, or an online guide, or anything like that it would be much appreciated, also, a good start would be how to tkae off the top of the ps2, thanks for the help in advance.
     
  2. jonjakjam

    jonjakjam Regular member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    What chip do you have?
    Some modchips have a sleep mode for online play =)
    Removing the modchip is a bad idea as you will probably end up with a broken PS2 if you try to!
     
  3. alcohilic

    alcohilic Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    honestly i have no idea what chip it is ive had it in there for a few years, i got it proffesionally installed but i cant go back cause the guy ran outta buissness, i dont know if im gonna take it out just yet, but i'd like to open up my ps2 and take a look to see if its possible
     
  4. jonjakjam

    jonjakjam Regular member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    How do you boot your backups?
     
  5. alcohilic

    alcohilic Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i go through game shark which came with the chip.
     
  6. lucifer69

    lucifer69 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i think you have a neo modchip the one that are like the psx chips
     
  7. alcohilic

    alcohilic Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    yeah i think that might be it, now do you know where i can find it inside, and what to do when iver found it??
     
  8. notmyname

    notmyname Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Have you opened up electronics and put them together again? Did it still work? If you answered no to either question, be prepared to screw up your PS2. Its not difficult for someone with an electronics background to remove the chip, so ask around and hope someone will come to your rescue.

    Depending on location, your PS2 may be in MANY pieces before you can remove the modchip, and the wires need to be de-soldered or clipped close to the board.
     
  9. alcohilic

    alcohilic Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    well i opened up my ps2 about an hour ago to take a basic look,i got the top off and i managed to open up the disk drive and take that out but in case i was stairing it in the face i didnt want to go any further and end up fusking something up, and well it still works, so im asuming i could get it out depending on the location..
     
  10. jonjakjam

    jonjakjam Regular member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    There are 2 wires soldered under the dvd drive, dont take the drive out, if you did try to take drive out fully you would have snapped both wires off and then if you tried to power on your console...bye bye PS2!
    The mod you have is fairly easy to remove tho, if you have a friend with some experience they could do it for you, but like notmyname said you need to clip the wires close to the board =)
     

Share This Page