1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help required for possible video outputs

Discussion in 'PS3 - Modding & Hacking' started by Abhi262, May 30, 2007.

  1. Abhi262

    Abhi262 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi, i will be getting a ps3 soon but however, i have a problem. My HDTV only supports DVI, VGA, SCART and S-Video, but no hdmi or component. is there anyway that i can get my ps3 to work in HD? (ie maybe get a dvi signal out if it?). i'm not too knowledgeable about this sort of stuff but i know the basics. i would be really grateful if someone could help.
    thanx

    btw i live in the UK if it make any difference.
     
  2. Footie979

    Footie979 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  3. Abhi262

    Abhi262 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    do you possibly know where i could get one of these cables?
    thanx
     
  4. Footie979

    Footie979 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Amazon.co.uk or ebay I guess. I got one for around $7 to connect my Macbook to my future HDTV.
     
  5. Abhi262

    Abhi262 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    what is the full/ best name for this cable to put in? every time i try i get no results. i didn't try eBay because i have had a few bad experiences including me getting ripped off a few hundred pounds.
     
  6. Footie979

    Footie979 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Didn't you look at the link?

    Hdmi to dvi.
     
  7. Abhi262

    Abhi262 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    sorry, i meant the audio one :)
     
  8. Footie979

    Footie979 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Any optical audio cord will do. They're pretty cheap. Or if your receiver doesn't have an optical input, you need regular red and white audio cords.
     
  9. footylad

    footylad Guest

    This is similar to the problem i have. I got a Humax PVR tv with just a DVI input. I set audio as AV and put the red and white ends into the component audio and it doesn't work. I don't seem to be able to get sound properly get the picture fine mind you...
     
  10. Mr_Pink

    Mr_Pink Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Don't be dissuaded by the optical audio cord. Technically, yeah, the HDMI will offer better sound (and obviously better video) but on my TV, for example, the speakers are only 10 watts. Instead of using the HDMI for audio from my PS3 to the TV, I use an optical audio cable to go from the PS3 to the home theater receiver.

    It's f'n awesome. My receiver doesn't have an HDMI input.
     
  11. Abhi262

    Abhi262 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ok, thanks alot, i think this will just about work
     

Share This Page