1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HELP - Starview box dead after download of code patch

Discussion in 'Digital TV - UK & Europe' started by gloeckner, Jul 2, 2007.

  1. gloeckner

    gloeckner Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    CAN YOU HELP?
    I cannot power up my Starview box after uploading a code patch(?) which was supposed to remove the need for frequent code updates.
    I think it was GTROMLOADER V4 (1).00 or something (and a .bin file I think)
    Upload was "successful" but I can't switch the box back on (from the front panel switch)
    There is a power switch at the back which is feeding power into the box but the box itself is dead (there are 4 or so LED's flashing in sequence from left to right on the front) but no "life"...
    Any ideas out there?
    JG
     
  2. LeslieB71

    LeslieB71 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Good news is your box is not dead it just has a bad flas , have you got a clone or genuine ?
     
  3. gloeckner

    gloeckner Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hey LeslieB71 - thanks for getting back. It's a genuine box - I know that much!
     
  4. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96

    In Leslies absense as I would not like to stand on her toes :)

    Here is a fix courtesy of Fergus.

    If you have a Bad Flash with software have a Read of This might help

    If you have a bad flash, switch it off then on at the back & make sure its on standby.
    Then Flash as normal. This also applies to flashing (up & downloading) the channel data file.
    If for some reason you cannot flash and have set and checked everything else such as ports and connections,
    then you should switch off at the back wait a moment then on again. Then try to flash again.

    If for some reason it won't go into standby and you see a constant moving green line.
    you may want to wait to see if it goes into standby or switches on eventually or re-flash from this state
    though it may not work. Some users have reported that flashing an older firmware 1st that was working,
    then trying again may help. If your flash has failed or corrupted try again but 1st flash back the firmware
    that was on before your failed flash. Re download the firmware just in case you had a corrupted file then try again.
    If you do flash from the moving green line state at boot, you will see the % increase on the GTRom loader
    software but not on the Starview. Toward the end of the flash you'll see a Flash Burning message in GTRom.
    Make sure you wait until all is finished and you see the Download complete pop up message in GTRom.

    Another method you can use to recover from a bad flash, eg. the box won't boot to standby and is stuck
    in pre standby, either after about 3 or 4 moving green lines the box sticks with the green line not moving
    at all or it keeps moving forever. If the box will NOT RE-FLASH as normal from on or standby, try this but it
    may take a few goes to work.

    Connect the box to the pc with your cable but switch it off at the back. Load the correct
    firmware bin file into GTRom & set it to the correct com port, and select App file only then hit Download.
    Only then switch on at the back to power on the box. It may take a few sec. so wait at least 30 sec.
    (If it doesn't work 1st time try also waiting a couple of sec. to switch on after pressing download in the loader.) It may take more than 1 try to work, but eventually you'll see the loader kick in and the % bar increase. You won't see the % on the Starview though. Only green lines moving left to right. Towards the end of the flash you'll see a message in GTRom saying FLASH BURNING. Then it will reach 100% and wait for the download complete pop up box to appear & the box will reboot back to factory setup. You will have lost any channel data previously on the box & will need to rescan & switch on EMU and set the box up from scratch.

    If you don't know the state of the box switch it on see what happens see if there already has been a channel
    scan done before-meaning there are channels on it working or not. If so tune to an unencrypted channel as above
    then standby then re-flash.


     
  5. LeslieB71

    LeslieB71 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thanks scouser lol , and ha ha about my toes .
     
  6. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96

    I was waiting on the exclaimation mark :)
     
  7. LeslieB71

    LeslieB71 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Shushhhh !
     
  8. gloeckner

    gloeckner Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11



    Hi Sc0user
    Thanks a million for your help!
    Tried everything you recommended in the above guidelines but unfortunately my Starview is still not going into standby mode.
    The four green LED lights are permanently flashing from left to right.
    The only time these lights are not moving from left to right is when the GTROM window states "Flash Burning". Sedconds later, the window states "Download Complete"
    I OK and exit and then try to put the Starview box into standby mode using the switch on the FRONT. However nothing happens... nothing!
    Any ideas?
    Thanks in advance for your help

    gloeckner
     
  9. gloeckner

    gloeckner Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11

    LeslieB71
    Just have sent msg to Sc0user - I assume you know each other!?
    Hoping that one of you will get my msg tonight...
    Here's the situation: Tried everything Sc0user recommended in the his/her guidelines but unfortunately my Starview is still not going into standby mode.
    The four green LED lights are permanently flashing from left to right.
    The only time these lights are not moving from left to right is when the GTROM window states "Flash Burning". Sedconds later, the window states "Download Complete"
    I OK and exit and then try to put the Starview box into standby mode using the switch on the FRONT. However nothing happens... nothing!
    Any ideas?
    Thanks in advance for your help

    gloeckner
     
  10. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Sorry for the delay in coming back to you. OK we never decided if you have a clone or a genuine box could you please click on the Starview info link at the end of my post and then click on clones this will provide you with the info to decide.

    By the way I am a he :)
     

Share This Page