1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help. Why did my burn fail? XDG3

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by jayquik03, Apr 12, 2013.

  1. jayquik03

    jayquik03 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I'll start with the facts.
    Burning Drive: TSSTcorp SH-S223L SB03
    Using Burner-Max Payload tool Unlocks the extra space on the disc without a problem.
    Burned discs at 4x and 2.4x both failing.
    Tried with Verbatim discs 001 and Memorex discs (Both used in the past on XGD2 w/o a problem on this xbox.
    Old backups of XGD2 games load without a problem. Retail XGD3 load without a problem.
    Liteon drive in xbox phat flashed with LT+3.0
    When putting the game in xbox it shows play game but no picture or name of game. When clicking play game it goes to a black screen then I get dirty disc error.
    When trying to see game info by hitting X it looks like it's going to go to game info screen but then goes right back to dashboard a second later so no way to install to harddrive.
    Game was run through ABGX with no errors.
    The last burn I made I ran through Kprobe2 and these were the results (Not exact I forgot to save the results but all good numbers as far as I know except maybe PIF Max.

    Errors: 0
    PI Max: 24
    PI Average: 2
    PIF Max: 8
    PIF Average .17

    Image burn settings:
    Under write I unchecked Perform OPC Before Write.
    Under I/O Page 2 I raised the buffer size to 512 MB.
    Under advanced I can't change any of the lite-on settings they are all disabled i'm guessing because i'm not using a liteon drive. Only thing that's not disabled is Smart Burn.

    Can anyone help me? I've been reading alot checking lots of different tutorials and my kprobe results seem playable to me. Any suggestions?
     
  2. richietea

    richietea Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I believe that Kprobe is only for Liteon drives or cross flashed ihas drives so your results maybe be a false positive.Reading elsewhere about your drive type it seems although it can change the burn size in the payload tool it seems to struggle either with the 2nd layer when burning or the outer edges.Personally i have 2 drives with burnermax firmware the cheapest was £25 inc p/p which was a DH24ABS crossflashed to a Ihas124.I would buy either a pre-flashed or compatible drive for decent backups.The payload tool in my opinion just opened up a whole new can of worms and seems to have caused more problems due to the lack of setting you can access in Imgburn.
     
  3. Thosmos

    Thosmos Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I don't have an iHas drive. I tried to get a 124B -- and ended up getting the 124W from Amazon. Won't even work with the payload tool either. But I have a couple of drives that do work with the payload tool. Some of my burns work, but about half say dirty disk.

    I use Verbs 001 @ x2.4
    Run through AGBX

    Have tried multiple copies of games that haven't worked... Max Payne 3, Bioshock Infinite, Dragon Dogma, and most importantly Forza Horizon -- which I have wanted to get working the most.

    So, someone else mentioned this method.

    Burn a second disk of the game as the installer. Not using the payload tool, but trying overburn of the disk.

    I did this with Forza Horizon just now.

    Used it to install (it won't play)
    Then use the disk that I have for the same game burned with the payload tool to play...

    It works!!

    The payload tool builds can never install, with the copies that I have burned (about 5), on various burners that work with the payload tool, and that I have had success with burning other XGD3 titles with.

    This test -- burning without payload, and selecting overburn, produced tons of errors in Imgburn -- even when closing the track, said "Failed to write image" and "Operation Failed".

    I even burned this install disk on one of my cheapo Memorex disks!
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2013
  4. Thosmos

    Thosmos Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    So, my collection of "dirty disk" coasters are finally being used with this method. Beyond Forza Horizon, I have used the same method with dirty disk errors on Star Trek, MOH: Warfighter and Skyrim. So far, the only one that hasn't worked is Max Payne 3. Good thing I hung onto my coaster collection. They were all fine!
     
    Last edited: May 2, 2013

Share This Page