1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help, why is my burner slowing down at the 30% mark?

Discussion in 'DVD±R for advanced users' started by MarjonS, Jan 3, 2005.

1. MarjonS

MarjonS Member

Hi folks,

So I am not a computer expert, but I recently bought a used computer with a DVD burner installed (it's a generic 8x burner).

I have had it for about a month now and have been burning using DVDXcopyXpress with very few problems.

However, in the last few days, my drive has been doing something strange. It READS the original DVD I put in in a decent amount of time (about 15 minutes on avergage), but when it comes time to write, it burns fine for the first 30% of the blank disc. And right at 30%, the steady flashing red light on my cpu slows down quite a bit, and then time starts being added to the time remaining. It ends up taking about 30 minutes just to burn the blank dvd. When I pop it out, I can see the burn line change right around the 30% mark, and when I pop it in to play, the first 30% plays fine, the rest of the disc either freezes up, skips, or stutters.

So, hearing that DVD Shrink and Encrypter work for some, I downloaded them, and I also gave Nero a shot. The result is the same:

at the 30% mark in writing the disc, you can hear the dvd drive change gears and start to slow down.

I have tried plus R, minus R, TDK, Maxell, Imitation, Memorex, 8x, 4x........and the result is the same.

My question is do I need to change the settings somewhere in my computer (ie. could something have changed without my knowledge), or is my burner just dying?

Be gentle with me, I am not computer savy, so I might need the lamens version of any advice.

Thanks guys! Marjon

2. rroettger

rroettger Regular member