1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help with Component/DVI/HDMI

Discussion in 'HDTV discussion' started by DerekDoh, Mar 3, 2007.

  1. DerekDoh

    DerekDoh Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have an RCA D52W19 HDTV, which unfortunately has no HDMI, some type of DVI Input, and two component inputs. I have an XBox 360, Comcast's DVR box and a Philips DVP5960 DVD player that upconverts. The Cable box has only HDMI and component out, same with the dvd player. Is there any type of solution using adaptors or what not to be able to have all 3 plugged into HD capable ports, or if not will constantly switching out the components wear on the tv's component inputs? Thank you in advance for any help.
     
  2. error5

    error5 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    There are several ways you can do this:

    1. Connect the Cable box to the DVI input of your HDTV using an HDMI to DVI cable like this:

    http://www.monoprice.com/products/p...&cs_id=1023102&p_id=2218%>&seq=1&format=6#faq

    Then connect the DVD player and the 360 to the two component inputs.

    2. Connect the DVD player to the DVI input of the HDTV using the cable above then connect the cable box and 360 to the component inputs.

    3. Use a component switcher such as:

    http://www.monoprice.com/products/p...cs_id=1011201&p_id=3027&seq=1&format=2&style=

    and use component cables for all your equipment.
     
  3. DragonRM

    DragonRM Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You can get cables or adapters that will convert hdmi to a dvi connector. They're essentially the same signal with a different connection, except the hdmi can also carry audio. Put the dvd player into the dvi as that's the only way it can upconvert (at least with the majority of players) and use component for the 360 and cable box.
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2007
  4. error5

    error5 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    DragonRM is correct. Use the HDMI-DVI cable on the DVD player so you'll get upconversion. I somehow missed that spec.
     

Share This Page