1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help with hidden trojan/virus.

Discussion in 'Windows - Virus and spyware problems' started by jmk1011, Oct 6, 2016.

  1. jmk1011

    jmk1011 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes i restarted after i uninstalled it but i just found a program called norton security scan that i didn't download, it must have been left behind after norton 360 uninstalled.
     
  2. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,690
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Don't worry about it. Norton is about as close to a virus as you can get. you have no problem, if you do, I'll find it and we can fix it with FRST.. hang in there.
     
  3. jmk1011

    jmk1011 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Alright do i just uninstall the norton security scan? i'm not sure what it is.
     
  4. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,123
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    I was going to say just uninstall that Norton scan.
     
  5. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,690
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Don't worry, I'll get it...
    You still have some Norton in your computer. It has always been a PITA to get rid of and like I said it is about Virus as you can get.. lol
    You also have about 7 of those bad schedules back so, I will see if I can find what's putting them in there.
    I may not get to it tonight but will soon as I can. Like I say, Hang in there.
     
  6. jmk1011

    jmk1011 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I understand thanks so much for the help i'm not doing anything on my pc but youtube this site and a few games not on steam so not sure whats putting them in there.
     
  7. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,690
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Well, don't download, install, un-install or run any malware scanners until I see what I can find. This FRST log is bigger than my ego. lol
     
  8. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,123
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    I thought nothing was as big as your ego. will have to tell your wife to chop it done to size before it explodes.
     
  9. jmk1011

    jmk1011 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have had a avast scan running today but i can stop it right now if that matters.
     
  10. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,690
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    78
    it don't matter. proly finished by now. lol
     
  11. jmk1011

    jmk1011 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Alright well i hope to hear about a fix tomorrow hopefully, Thanks again ;).
     
  12. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,690
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    78
    I'm working on it now but, will retire sap... CUL
     
  13. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,690
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Well, I did find a few Norton leftovers and 10 more blank tasks that I could not figure out what was setting them up. Would probably have to have that computer in front of me to be able to track it down. :(
    Anyway, run the attached fix and we'll see how things shape up.

    Fix with Farbar Recovery Scan Tool


    Download attached fixlist.txt file and save it to the Desktop:

    Both files, FRST and fixlist.txt have to be in the same location or the fix will not work!
    You should still have FRST on your computer...
    • Right-click on the FRST icon and select Run as Administrator to start the tool.
    • Press the Fix button just once and wait.
    • If for some reason the tool needs a restart, please make sure you let the system restart normally. After that let the tool complete its run.
    • When finishes FRST will generate a log on the Desktop, called Fixlog.txt.
    Please attach it to your reply.

    2oG :)
     

    Attached Files:

  14. jmk1011

    jmk1011 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Here is the log, also i did not custom build my pc i got it from the store pre-built because i didn't have time to get all the parts and build one, it is a "Asus rog g20" i'm not sure if this info helps just wanted to throw it on the table, not that i didn't want to build my own because i know that pre-built pcs can run a little weird after having them for a while.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,690
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    78
    First of all, how is it acting now? Any problems?

    This PC is a custom build but getting a little "long in the tooth" and having a few problems. I may build a new one when this one goes "Tits up" LOL

    Let me know how your doing now and if you have any problems with what we just did, there is a system restore point that was set "just in case".

    2oG :)
     
  16. jmk1011

    jmk1011 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The pc has been running fine for the past day or two but are you think building a new pc is a good idea? because i might want to get started on that build if thats the case.
     
  17. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,690
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    78
    How long have you had it??
     
  18. jmk1011

    jmk1011 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    About a year or so now i got it august last year.
     
  19. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,690
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Oh man, I would go at least 3 years before thinking about it... I have kept this one going about 8 yrs, replacing parts and upgrading, etc. and it is still pretty top notch. It's a 6 core AMD over clocked to a little over 4 GHz with 8 GB hi speed RAM and (4) 1TB drives, it's a little too old for an ssd. Squeeze what you can out of it before replacing has always been my motto.. If I really want a new one, I'll build it, but not just to replace the one I have...lol
     
  20. jmk1011

    jmk1011 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Sounds like a nice rig you got! i think i'll start slowly building something so that when this one dies out on me i'll have something to fall back on, because getting new parts for this pc and swapping them out will cancel the warranty and also it might not work right after that so i have to leave this pc as is, but i do want something i can replace the parts for and upgrade.
     

Share This Page