1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help with loading MC Exploit

Discussion in 'PS2 - Software boot discussion' started by treminaor, Nov 27, 2007.

  1. treminaor

    treminaor Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hello, This is my fist post so hello everyone.

    I have been trying to load the Independence exploit on my PS2 for a long time but I just can't get it to work. I have a version 4 US NTSC fat PS2. I have tried using the PS1 browser swap method but I end up frozen on the PS1 logo screen. Sometimes the actual PS1 logo picture is missing from this screen. I have tried booting a PS1 game and as soon as the screen goes black, do the slide card swap. Ends up frozen on a black screen. I have tried using Gameshark v2 4.1 and putting in a legit PS2 CD game and swapping as soon as the screen goes black. Nothing Happens. I don't understand what I am doing wrong. I know I am doing the browser swap right because I can boot PS1 backups on my friend's PS2Slim just fine (Independence Exploit won't run for some reason, but my backup of Resident Evil 2 worked.). The only thing I can think of that could be wrong is maybe I am burning the Independence Exploit wrong. Please Help me out.

    -trem
     
  2. treminaor

    treminaor Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Forgot to say: I am burning the exploit to a Memorex CD-R burned at 4x with a standerd SONY drive using Nero Burning ROM following this tutorial. I added a 100 MB dummy file and am using Gran Turismo SCUS-94194.94

    These are the files on the disc:
    root:\FILES\BOOT.ELF
    root:\FILES\COGSWAP.ELF
    root:\FILES\IOMANX.IRX
    root:\FILES\IOP.IRX
    root:\FILES\PS2DEV9.IRX
    root:\FILES\PS2IP.IRX
    root:\FILES\PS2IPS.IRX
    root:\FILES\PS2LINK.IRX
    root:\FILES\PS2SMAP.IRX
    root:\CDVD.IRX
    root:\DUMMYFILE.DF <- 100 MB
    root:\EXPINST.ELF
    root:\SYSTEM
    root:\TITLE.DB


    All of these files are Read-Only. Should they be ? Plus The disc has no title.
     
  3. cee43ja1

    cee43ja1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,135
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    46
    the browser swap only works on the v9 ps2. and the memory card exploits have been fixed in all slim ps2.

    i wouldn't bother with burning a exploit cd; you need to use swapmagic to get it to boot.

    best thing to do is compile the exploit, and transfer it with action replay max via usb flash drive. find someone or buy ARMAX that has usb support.
     
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2007
  4. treminaor

    treminaor Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Wow, none of the tutorials I could find even made it remotely clear that you have to have a version 9 PS2. Are your sure this is correct? I was afraid I would have to buy something. Would this version of Action Replay work?
     
  5. cee43ja1

    cee43ja1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,135
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    46
    i remember reading somewhere that v9 can only use the browser swap. i tried it on my v7, and it wouldn't boot.

    yes, that action replay will work. it has the usb drive already. to make the exploit, go to exploitstation.com. you'll find tutorials on how to create one for action replay. i've used their guides, and it's very easy to follow.
     
  6. treminaor

    treminaor Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Well that's a disappointment. You said that the memory card exploit was fixed on slim. Does that mean that it won't install it to the memory card or boot at all?, or it will install but it wont run after the install? Because if I could just get it to install on the slim's memory card and put it into my PS2, it would work.
     
  7. cee43ja1

    cee43ja1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,135
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    46
    the exploit won't run. sony fixed the buffer overflow that was triggered by the ps1 game in the fat ps2's. you can still put the exploit onto the memory card with ARMAX, but it will just boot to the ps1 game.

    fat ps2 has the advantage because you can put in a IDE hdd from a computer, when you have the network adapter attached. i use the exploit to boot hdloader 0.8b, and run the games off the hdd. barely any loading times, and saves the laser.
     
  8. treminaor

    treminaor Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks. I guess I'll grab AR MAX EVO off of Amazon then. One question I still have is: Why would the exploit ONLY work on v9 and not the ones before it? What did Sony change that caused this to happen?
     
  9. cee43ja1

    cee43ja1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,135
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    46
    the browser swap, i wouldn't know why. i think it was in the motherboard revision that make the browser swap possible.

    but the memory card exploit will work on ALL fat ps2.
     
  10. treminaor

    treminaor Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for your help.
     

Share This Page