1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help with Newsgroups Please

Discussion in 'Windows - P2P software' started by mar624, Sep 26, 2007.

1. mar624

mar624 Member

first i'll start off with a hello since i'm new here. i've been looking into using newsgroups and found some tutorials and they helped a little but i'm still having some problems that i can't find answers to. i'm a newb so go easy.

first off, i'm using grabit and i've got it configured for my ISP's server. i started off with an nzb since people have said they're much easier to use. i went to a site online and found the file i wanted and downloaded the nzb file and loaded it with grabit. grabit then started downloading it. after it was done i opened quick-par to check for errors, which it found.

Question 1: after running quick par, it said i needed 120 more blocks. the problem is that i only have 90 recovery blocks. the tutorials say to just d/l extra blocks from the original poster. how do i do this? i don't even know where to post to find the original poster to ask.

Question 2: i tried another different file just to see if i could get it to work and it says "the file doesn't exist on this server". i got teh nzb file from online so is the problem that grabit is looking for the file on my ISP's newsgroup server and it's not there?

Question 3: i look at all the various posts on my ISP's newsgroup server and they hardly have any files. how do i find anyfiles that i want? i could list the sites i've tried online(not sure if that's against the forum rules or not) but i'm not sure if those files i get from them will be accessable if they're not on my ISP's server (kind of related to question 2). like i said, i'm new at this. i'm not sure i even get where the files come from.