1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help with overclocking ati graphics card

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by Abhi262, Aug 22, 2007.

  1. Abhi262

    Abhi262 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    hi, i have a ATI Radeon Sapphire X1950 pro with 512mb Gddr3 and am trying to over clock it. i have never overclocked anything in my life but i have read up on it and supossedly, RAG3D is the best thing for the job. i ran it but it told me that i didn't have ccc (catalyst control center) installed. i went and installed it from the amd/ati website - chose my os (win Vista 32bit) downloaded and installed but it stil said after a reboot that ccc wasn't installed. i could not find any other apps for ati cards (except ati tool which supported all cards but mine). can anyone help me overclock this? also, does anyone know of something really good to do for benchmarking (in particular)? thanx in advance for any help. here are my specs:

    (Dell dimension 9150)
    Intel pentium 4 (630 prescott) HT 3.0ghz
    2gb ram
    ati radeon x1950 pro
     
  2. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,322
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    I've never heard of RAG3D, use ATiTool.
     
  3. Azrea1

    Azrea1 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    rivatuner works nice
     
  4. Waymon3X6

    Waymon3X6 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Yea, I use rivatuner to montor temps while I overclock with ATiTool.

    Just go in very small increments, and wait for a while in between each overclock. (I wait about 5-10seconds)
     
  5. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,322
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    I use Atitool for overclocking and don't give a monkey's about my temps because I use an HR-03 and know they're fine. I occasionally open everest to check though.
     
  6. Waymon3X6

    Waymon3X6 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Yea, I got the tidewater, but I still worry sometimes. I guess I'm not used to having a card not overheat, since that used to be the issue with the TEC cooler that came with my x1950xt.
     
  7. Abhi262

    Abhi262 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    but isn't ATItool incompatible with the x1950 pro?
    btw what is the hottest temperature the card should be/
     
  8. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,322
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    I don't see why it would be. Try it and see.
    As for the maximum temperature, if it's using the stock cooler, try to keep the core temp below 90C.
     
  9. Waymon3X6

    Waymon3X6 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Below 90C??? My card crashes at like 75-80. I try to keep mine under 70, but I've got aftermarket cooling.
     
  10. Abhi262

    Abhi262 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    how can i check the temperature?
     
  11. Abhi262

    Abhi262 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  12. Waymon3X6

    Waymon3X6 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I use ATi Tool for my Gecube x1950xt, and it works perfectly.

    To check the temps, I use RivaTuner, works fine. You can use it for overclocking too.
     
  13. Abhi262

    Abhi262 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    when i start overclocking (with riva tuner), what should happen onscreen (i.e. should the screen go black or should a demo play etc.) when i press test

    sorry if i am asking too many questions, i just don't want to fry up my card.
     
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2007
  14. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,322
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    well it shouldn't, the X1900XT PCIe ran fine above 100C using the stock cooler.
     

Share This Page