1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help with P4 3.4ghz socket 478 rated 5.10ghz???

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by elliott, Jun 8, 2007.

  1. elliott

    elliott Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I just got this major upgrade from a 2.8ghz p4 to this nicely priced 3.4ghz socket 478 prescott not the extreme edtion and I was running some tests on Gamespot to see what new games I can play and it said this "you are running Pentium 4 3.4ghz rated at 5.10ghz" scared the crap out of me my system is stable so far and not to hot or should I say hotter than normal but this puzzles me anyone got a clue? I purchased it from a online shop that stated this cpu has not been overclocked.
     
  2. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,071
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    128
    what does your bios say you have for speed?
     
  3. mrklean

    mrklean Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    If your BIOS say you are running a 3.4ghz P4, then gamespot may have a bug in there tests.
     
  4. Halen5150

    Halen5150 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I'm gonna go with there's a bug in their system...


    because I find that very weird how you can get up to 5 some ghz and not have your cpu shot....


    ..because Intel's in general are known for running hot..[except c2d's though...:)]

    ..so I'm gonna say there's a bug in the system @ Gamespot
     
  5. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,071
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    128
    what is your cpu temp?
     
  6. AXT

    AXT Guest

    there is no way you can get a pentium four to run at 5.1 ghz unless you are using liquid nitrogen coolin or other extreme form of cooling.
     
  7. docTY

    docTY Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    LOL

    as you stated,
    it's a Prescott too and NOT the extreme edition, which is already hotter than the Northwood P4 socket 478 chip to begin with...i'm curious as to what your cpu temps are currently as well, much like ddp stated~ :)

    it's a bug in gamespot's system of comparison, those numbers aren't even possible without high end phase change or liquid nitrogen as AXT stated, also the Northwood P4s run cooler AND more efficiently when comparing the socket 478's by Intel :)
     
  8. Spenman91

    Spenman91 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Messages:
    695
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Gamespot does that alot. I have a AMD X2 4600+. And on that site it says two cores running at 2.4ghz. Then under that is says rated at like 6.7ghz. So I just thought it said that because it was taking the speed of both cores and adding them together. Which still wouldn't equal that high, but I thought it might have been comparing mine to like a Pentium D or something since AMDs clock speeds at the time were lower but ran alot faster (in some cases).
     
  9. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,071
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    128
    hello doc.
     
  10. docTY

    docTY Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    hello ddp :) good to see ya again...hope all is well.
     
  11. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,071
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    128
    yes & same to you.
     

Share This Page