1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help with Torrents

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by PointGod, Oct 11, 2004.

  1. PointGod

    PointGod Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I might want to get a game from suprnova but I don't know what to do with torrents.. anyone help me??
     
  2. 2earl5

    2earl5 Guest

    open them in a bit torrent client, like azurues
     
  3. PointGod

    PointGod Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    any other ones? and how much space do the clients take on ur pc?
     
  4. llongtheD

    llongtheD Guest

    I've tried Azureus, and a couple of others, but have settled on torrent storm. Pretty small app too, at about 3.4MB. You can get it here: http://www.torrentstorm.com/
    Keep in mind if your using a router you need to forward ports 6881-6887 to the IP, your PC has been assigned by your router. Otherwise, your download speeds will suffer.
     
  5. PointGod

    PointGod Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    alright, and how much does the actual torrent take up?(approx, or on average)
     
  6. Ashman1

    Ashman1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    [bold]llongtheD,[/bold]
    How can I tell if I am using a router? Some of my downloads have taken close to a week. And if I am, how do I foward ports to the IP? I use Shareaza to download my torrents.


    PointGod,

    Here are some links to some torrent clientss.

    http://www.shareaza.com/

    http://bitconjurer.org/BitTorrent/
     
  7. llongtheD

    llongtheD Guest

    You must not be using a router, you'd know, its a piece of hardware, used for networking, and firewall purposes. Your download speeds are still dependant on your connection speed. If you have dial-up, its not going to speed up your connection. It just allows you to download from multiple sources to get the most out of the connection you have.
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]opinions are like a**holes, everyones got one.[/small]
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 13, 2004
  8. Ashman1

    Ashman1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thanks,
    I have a cable internet connection, so your right, I don't have a router.
     

Share This Page