1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help with viruses

Discussion in 'All other topics' started by tqualls, Nov 25, 2003.

  1. tqualls

    tqualls Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I really need some help please. My computer has become swamped with viruses. Well, actually 4 different kinds. Two worm viruses, and two trojan horse viruses. Anyhow, I recently ran Mcafee on my computer, and it said I had some viruses that could not be fixed. So I deleted the files. Now my Windows XP will not completely load. It will go to the welcome screen then I'll put in my password, and it will act like it's going to load, but it kicks me out back to the welcome screen. Does anyone know what I can do to fix this? And is there anyway to get rid of these viruses?

    Thanks
     
  2. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    1.McAffee should have some specific virus removing tools. It would be more helpful if you told us WHICH viruses you are having problems with
    2. Reformat the computer and start over again
    3. Try safe mode,
     
  3. {TKO}

    {TKO} Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i am no expert like praetor, but personally i have all my important shhhhhhtuf backed up( music, movies, more importantly- porn) so restoring the whole computer is no hassle....if you do not...i used to go to safe mode and back up all my shhhhhhtuff and restore...it's almost like getting a new computer....please keep in mind thou that i am tarded
     
  4. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Before you run off and format, you should try to brute force overwrite-install a new copy of windows (without formatting), see if that works, SAVE YOUR DATA and then kill your machine and start over. :)

    Damn, I love my Ghosts :D
     
  5. magnetic

    magnetic Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    and just to add, keep your virus definations UP TO DATE
    Especially when using the web and sharing loads of files and e-mail you should have the antivirus loaded in the background.

    I mean, honestly, 4 viruses.

    if you know the specific virus then you can search Mcafee or one of the other lot for a cure or do a search on the web.
    Most anti-virus sites will have some sort of bandage or jab you could use to clear out the infected pc
     
  6. {TKO}

    {TKO} Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    hey praetor...ghosts??
     
  7. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ghost as in a complete image of my hdd so that i can restore to any specific state at any given time if i so choose (i.e., I have a work-only configuation, a downloading/server-only configuration, multimedia-only config, gaming only config, general config, different OSes etc). Takes 5-15 minutes to make an image of the drive (with some seriously insane compression too) and 5-7 minutes to restore. Viruses, messed up tweaks and stuff dont affect me much because I can just restore to a specific configuration.
     
  8. {TKO}

    {TKO} Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    one word.....one syllabol( or however you spelldeded it) SWEEEEEEET!!
     
  9. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Hehe yes, yes it is. Although it is a pain in the ass to spend all the time in the world getting a completely config'ed and tweaked out setup though -- although it feels good to know at least i wont have to do it again if something goes kaputz._X_X_X_X_X_[small]ASUS A7V8X-X, AMD2500+
    Samsung 1024MB, PC2700
    360GB [3x120GB, 7200, 8MB]
    MSI Starforce, GeForce4 Ti4400 128MB

    Rules and Policies: http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/2487
    AFTERDAWN IRC: irc.emule-project.net, #ad_buddies
    COME SAY HI![/small]
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2003

Share This Page