1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help

Discussion in 'Sony Handhelds' started by mxh4653, Jun 4, 2007.

  1. mxh4653

    mxh4653 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i downloaded games for my psp and it's version is 3.40. and when i put the games into the file game in the psp, and when i try to play it, it says corrupted file. what do i do.
     
  2. kpc

    kpc Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    yeah man that happens to me all the time. someone tell us what to do!
     
  3. Oraseth

    Oraseth Regular member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Downloaded games/applications do not work on official sony 3.40 firmware, you have to have a custom firmware or version 1.50 to run them.
     
  4. mxh4653

    mxh4653 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    how do i get a custom version. sry im really a noob on psp's
     
  5. CKhaleel

    CKhaleel Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    You need to wait for a 3.40 downgrader first.
     
  6. mxh4653

    mxh4653 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    do u know when the downgrade is going to come out?
     
  7. Freaker

    Freaker Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    many people are in the same boat as you, just wait and do a google search every now and then. It way take a while for that firmware to be hacked. just DO NOT UPGRADE any further.
    good luck
     
  8. okthen12

    okthen12 Guest

    Yes do not upgrade to a higher version. I thought i was screwed at 3.02, untill my dreams came true when the 3.03 downgrader came out. Hope you have the same luck i had.
     
  9. mxh4653

    mxh4653 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ok so do i have to upgrade to 3.50 and then downgrade it?
    and if i downgrade what are the chances of bricking my psp.
     
  10. dEEz_nUtz

    dEEz_nUtz Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Yes, you have to upgrade to official sony 3.50 fw-then get yourself a copy of the game Lumines (not LuminesII) and the 3.50 downgrader..The firmware upgrades/downgraders can be found on psp-hacks.com
    You run as much of a risk updating to official firmware as you do downgrading your psp-Anything that writes to the internal memory (flash) is considered a risk..As long as you can follow simple directions, and ask questions here if you are uncertain, then you will be OK...
     
  11. mxh4653

    mxh4653 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    im really sorry but im really a noob on psp and im really nervous about bricking my psp.
    i read the how to for the downgrade and i dont get it. i need help. sry
     
  12. dEEz_nUtz

    dEEz_nUtz Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    @mxh4653-what are you stuck on? dont be afraid to ask...
    Did you get your Lumines games yet? I can walk you through the process if you need help..
     
  13. mxh4653

    mxh4653 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ok i already had lumines so thats not a problem
    but i dont get this step:

    Unzip the 1.50 update to a temporary folder. Rename the EBOOT.PBP to
    UPDATE.PBP and copy it to <pspdrive>:/PSP/GAME/UPDATE/ . DO NOT
    OVERWRITE PSP/GAME/UPDATE/EBOOT.PBP!
     
  14. dEEz_nUtz

    dEEz_nUtz Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    That just means you need to put that 1.50 update in the same folder as the other eboot thats in the PSP/GAME/UPDATE, and if you were to just copy it over-it will overwrite the other one because it has the same name...Which is why you need to rename it because it requires both files.. So unzip the 1.50 eboot into a different folder on your computer so its seperate from the other one, rename it and copy it to the UPDATE folder on your memory stick-(you will probably have to create that UPDATE folder within the GAME folder-make sure its in CAPS)
     
  15. mxh4653

    mxh4653 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    like i tried to rename it but im not able to.
    is the eboot.pbp supposed to be a wma file?
     
  16. dEEz_nUtz

    dEEz_nUtz Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    No..its more like a data file...What does it say when you try to rename it? Are you getting an error message like the file is being used by another program? make sure that you dont have any other programs open on your computer and that the file has been unpacked from the rar/zip file...also dont have your USB connection open between your psp and your computer...
     
  17. mxh4653

    mxh4653 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    no there is no error saying that it being used by another program it just doesn't give me the option of renaming it. it just has copy cut delete and properties.
    Should i download a new one?
     
  18. mxh4653

    mxh4653 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    o nvm i got it to work after i extracted the file.
    ok i think im set. thank you very much dEEz_nUtz
     
  19. dEEz_nUtz

    dEEz_nUtz Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    well you should be able to change the name from the properties like this...change it to UPDATE.PBP and click OK

    [​IMG]
     
  20. dEEz_nUtz

    dEEz_nUtz Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    No problem...let me know if you need any more assistance..
     

Share This Page