1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hey, I'm new - Got a PSP question

Discussion in 'Sony Handhelds' started by wiinis, Sep 17, 2007.

1. wiinis

wiinis Member

Hey everyone,

I was wondering what the main disadvantages are of having a japanese PSP and living in North America. I was told the games would all work, but the movies wouldn't.

I have dabled in DS and Wii modding, so I am not a total newb, but new to PSP. I want to buy the white psp slim, not crazy about having the Darth Vader version that releases on the 9th. Have the white Ds and macbook, so I want the PSP to match (geeky I know).

I want to be able to rip DVD's to be able to watch them on the psp or the TV via video out. Also want music and to be able to play iso's from flash. Could I do all that with the Japanese psp? Any issues?

Thanks!

2. Shokz

Shokz Regular member

No issues what-so-ever, i'm a Jap PSP user in the UK and i've never had any problems... then again i'm on custom firmware, that shouldn't matter anyway, as it's just UMD Videos.

3. chwoolgar

chwoolgar Regular member

I have a japanese import and i have never had any issues with it before.

You will probably be able to find a PSP in the UK soon at the same price as importing one as the PSP Slim has been released now and the phat one is an old model.

4. wiinis

wiinis Member

Thanks for the responses.

I kind of like the idea of being able to play the North American UMD's... I just want a plain white PSP slim, no Vader.

I am not sure if I am going to try to mess with downgrading and stuff to play iso's. Maybe the answer is to get 2 psp's! One to mess with and one to keep stock.

What do I have to know to be able to play backups? I checked out some of the other threads, but I don't find them really clear. Can someone break it down for me?
    Thanks!

5. Fruitz

Fruitz Member

@wiinis