1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hi. Im new to digital camcorders

Discussion in 'Digital camcorders' started by heter, May 2, 2004.

1. heter

heter Member

hey. Im 14 and I just started getting intrested in digital camcorders. First, Id like to buy one. Maybe you can help me out on what I should get from what I want to do with it. Now remember im just a 14 year old, so try to keep the price reasonable please.

I would like to obviously record video and then plug it into my computer and use some kind of software to edit it.

I would like to add sound music and visual effects. For example, like a blaster effect from star wars or a lightsaber effect. I know it is possbile because Ive seen 3rd party videos who have done it. Also Id like to be able to view it other than just on my computer. Is there a way to edit it, then watch it on my tv some how? I would like to do this also.

Besides that I dont really know what else can be done with digital camcorders. SO for now Id like to do what I stated above.

Please help thanks.

2. fasfrank

fasfrank Active member

Hi heter,
    I just bought my first camcorder about a month ago. What I did to get familiar with what is out there was to just "Google" for camcorders. I ended up getting a JVC from Sears of all places. It was a return so I got it for half price which was what I found a new one selling for on-line.

You will probably want to look for a Mini DV camera, just make sure your computer has a Firewire or IEE1394 port that you can plug the camera into. Thats how the DV is transferred. Don't forget to get the cable, a battery and some videocassettes for your camera.
    If you have Windows XP then you should have Windows Movie Maker software installed. This is a pretty good program for learning basic video editing and adding audio.