1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Home DVD edit - VOB conversion?

Discussion in 'Video to DVD' started by irulan, Oct 11, 2004.

1. irulan

irulan Member

Hello,
    I am a newbie to dvd authoring. I would appreciate a few pointers to authoring home dvd movies.
    I would like to edit and shorten a wedding dvd. The photographer I hired did basic menu with only 1 -2 menu items for the 3 discs using apparently imac video editing. Looking at the discs I have 3 - 4 vob files per disc. I have pinnacle studio version 8 and am told it is the easiest to work with. The problem is it would not import vob files. I updated to version 8.3 and it could import avi, mpg files.
    A few guides on the web say dvd decryptor and smart ripper could do the conversion. With dvd decryptor I ended up with one mpg (mpeg 2 - ?layer 2 - d2v?) file for each vob file, but no ac3 sound files. With smart ripper I ended up with the missing ac3 sound file, but only 1 file for all vob files.
    I could import the d2v file into studio 8, but how do I import the ac3 sound file? Then there is the issue of synchonizing the single ac3 sound file to the other mpg files (obviously I have to offset the sound file to match the video on the 2nd, 3rd, and 4th video/mpg file. From the web search it sounds like synchronization might be a problem with this approach.
    Is any of the mpg (layer 1 or 2) convertor that include sound in the actual file or is this inherent to all mpg format file?
    Could I convert to mpeg (1st generation) and work with it? if so which freeware does that?
    I understand mpeg is synonymous with VCD. Is there any loss of information with this conversion?