1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Home Video to DVD Quality

Discussion in 'DVD±R for advanced users' started by mafixit, May 13, 2003.

1. mafixit

mafixit Guest

Just wondering -

I have many old VHS tapes with home movies and have been uploading them to my new PC and then editing them and creating DVD's using Roxio VideoWave Movie Creator.

The final quality is not the best and I was wondering if there is any way to create a higher quality picture for my DVD off these tapes? All tapesare between 8 and 13 years old.

2. LuNaTiC

LuNaTiC Guest

Not really. The output will only be as good as the source you start with although you may be able to use some filters and transcoding to clean them up some.

3. mafixit

mafixit Guest

I'm a bit new to all this digital stuff. Can someone elaborate on "filters" and "transcoding"? Or at least point me in the right direction on where to read up on this?

Thanks!

4. RSS

RSS Member

I am in the process of converting vhs tape and bringing it over to DVD. How are you uploading it to your pc?

Thanks
    Robert

5. mafixit

mafixit Guest

Through analog hook-ups attached to my Dell Computer. The box came with my Roxio movie creator program I ordered with my computer.

Karen

6. LuNaTiC

LuNaTiC Guest

I never used Roxio VideoWave Movie Creator but I'm sure it does the transcoding for you. You can do it with other programs too but it wont be as simple of a process. You can read about transcoding on this site or www.doom9.org, just look for guides for TMPG, ReMPEG2, or CCE. I personally use Ulead DVD MovieFactory2 or Visual Studio7 for VHS to DVD conversion.

7. jnihil

jnihil Moderator Staff Member

mafixit, there are a number of virtualdub filters that can be used to clean up some analog video nasties (ghosting, noise, colour bleeding). You can then frameserve into CCE or TMPGEnc.

I typically use the following for cleaning VHS video: