1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Homebrew software?

Discussion in 'Sony PSP - Homebrew software' started by UPENYA, Oct 8, 2007.

1. UPENYA

UPENYA Member

Hey, I'm kinda new to the termanology behind homebrew, cud som1 help me understand what does it mean and where does that word originate and more to it that I coudn't possibly think I can ask you a question on, Thanks!!!

2. marlino23

marlino23 Regular member

the most common homebrew is placed in eboot.pbp format. eboot.pbps are the official update firmwares from sony but they can also be used to run unsigned code (things sony has NOT approved). however homebrew can not be run on firmware above 1.51 (official firmwares only). there are other firmware such as OE and M33 firmware that are a mixture of the newer kernels of system version 3.71 annd a mixture of 1.50. So it lets you keep homebrew and all new features of newer firmware.

ok so there is other homebrew such as portals. these are sort of mini things that can be run in the web browser and doesnt require 1.50 homebrew.

how to get homebrew thought. there is free downgraders from firmware 1.51-2.80, 2.81 to 3.03 requre a copy of GTA LCS unpatched. 3.10-3.50 requre LUMINES. 3.51+ requires a universal unbricker and ddowngrader called the pandora.

THIS will answer any unsolved questions. if u cant find what you're looking for there. im glad to help you right here.

3. UPENYA

UPENYA Member

Thanks, but I think I dont understand this unless I know the basics of what a PSP is like and what needs to be done to it to maximise performance, please could you explain this in simpler words...Sorry to be a pain :(

4. marlino23

marlino23 Regular member