1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hooking up a Computer to Receiver

Discussion in 'Audio' started by Brainpole, Sep 26, 2007.

  1. Brainpole

    Brainpole Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hello:
    I'm trying to hook up my computer to my receiver.
    I hooked up a rca coax cable to the digital audio out on the back of the PC, and to the digital input on my receiver and I get no sound.
    I'm using a pioneer vx8-817I there are two coax inputs in the back of the receiver
    One is for dvr/vcr and one is for dvd/ld.
    when I plug it in to either of those and tune in I get nothing even when I switch it to receive a digital signal instead of analog.

    I set the digital output on my computer as default, made sure everything was un-muted, installed the latest drivers for it and I still get nothing
    Is there anyone experience this type of problems?
    do I need a new soundcard? is it the computer or the receiver?

    specs
    -------------
    Sound Devices
    -------------
    Description: Speakers (High Definition Audio Device)
    Default Sound Playback: Yes
    Default Voice Playback: Yes
    Hardware ID: HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_10EC&DEV_0888&SUBSYS_103C2A58&REV_1001
    Manufacturer ID: 1
    Product ID: 100
    Type: WDM
    Driver Name: HdAudio.sys
    Driver Version: 6.00.5840.16387 (English)
    Driver Attributes: Final Retail
    WHQL Logo'd: Yes
    Date and Size: 11/2/2006 02:36:49, 235520 bytes
    Other Files:
    Driver Provider: Microsoft
    HW Accel Level: Basic
    Cap Flags: 0xF1F
    Min/Max Sample Rate: 100, 200000
    Static/Strm HW Mix Bufs: 1, 0
    Static/Strm HW 3D Bufs: 0, 0
    HW Memory: 0
    Voice Management: No
    EAX(tm) 2.0 Listen/Src: No, No
    I3DL2(tm) Listen/Src: No, No
    Sensaura(tm) ZoomFX(tm): No

    Description: Digital Output Device (SPDIF) (High Definition Audio Device)
    Default Sound Playback: No
    Default Voice Playback: No
    Hardware ID: HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_10EC&DEV_0888&SUBSYS_103C2A58&REV_1001
    Manufacturer ID: 1
    Product ID: 100
    Type: WDM
    Driver Name: HdAudio.sys
    Driver Version: 6.00.5840.16387 (English)
    Driver Attributes: Final Retail
    WHQL Logo'd: Yes
    Date and Size: 11/2/2006 02:36:49, 235520 bytes
    Other Files:
    Driver Provider: Microsoft
    HW Accel Level: Basic
    Cap Flags: 0xF1F
    Min/Max Sample Rate: 100, 200000
    Static/Strm HW Mix Bufs: 1, 0
    Static/Strm HW 3D Bufs: 0, 0
    HW Memory: 0
    Voice Management: No
    EAX(tm) 2.0 Listen/Src: No, No
    I3DL2(tm) Listen/Src: No, No
    Sensaura(tm) ZoomFX(tm): No
     
  2. AfterDawn

    AfterDawn Advertisement

  3. SL7Rips

    SL7Rips Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    749
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    try using a 3.5mm headphone to RCA cable.thats how i have mine hooked up and it sounds great. there like 2.99-5.99
     
  4. briansolo

    briansolo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    a simple mini-jack (1/8") to rca cable will do the trick. go out from the headphone jack on the computer into a red/white input of your choice on the receiver. no upgrading required.
     
  5. SL7Rips

    SL7Rips Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    749
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    It's What i just said.
     
  6. Brainpole

    Brainpole Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks guys,
    Will I be able to get 5.1 surround sound this way if I hooked up more speakers?
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2007
  7. briansolo

    briansolo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    you should be...go to your control panel and open up "sounds and audio devices." select the volume tab, and click the advanced button near the bottom right corner. select 5.1 from the pull-down menu.
     
  8. Brainpole

    Brainpole Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thanks
     
  9. SL7Rips

    SL7Rips Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    749
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26

Share This Page