1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problem Hooking up Seagate Portable harddrive to Blue Ray Player

Discussion in 'Home Theater PC' started by Brimorton116, Feb 13, 2017.

  1. Brimorton116

    Brimorton116 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello

    I want to watch movies on my TV from Seagate portable hard drive, i read i can do this with a Blueray player that has a USB port, my question is will my movies show up on the Blue Ray player menu

    Thank you

    Dan
     
  2. aldan

    aldan Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,512
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    68
    yep they should.it should be no different than plugging a flash drive in.
     
  3. Brimorton116

    Brimorton116 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Should .it ?
     
  4. aldan

    aldan Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,512
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    68
  5. Brimorton116

    Brimorton116 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    would a menu show up on the dvd player to show my files
     
  6. aldan

    aldan Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,512
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    68
    yes.it would be like plugging in a flash drive to view a file.
     
  7. aldan

    aldan Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,512
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    68
    just hooked my external hdd to my player and all 400 or so movies show on the menu.
     
  8. Brimorton116

    Brimorton116 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks aldan what brand is your player
     
  9. aldan

    aldan Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,512
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    68
    samsung.
     
  10. Brimorton116

    Brimorton116 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey

    I have a Patriot media player hooked to my Tv , it had a USB port would that work, this is the menu screen
    of the Patriot
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 14, 2017
  11. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,950
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    78
    You'd need to check the specs of the player & determine if there's any size of hdd restriction & what format the hdd must be in for the player to see it.Fat32 is a given however ntfs may not be.Why haven't you tried it already since you have a player ? it will either show up or it won't.
     
    Mez likes this.
  12. Brimorton116

    Brimorton116 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I plugged it in and nothing is showing up, the unit has power and its plugged into the USB slot of the patriot player
     
  13. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,950
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    78
    find the specs of the player & see what the max size hdd can be used if any & also take note of the format the drive needs to be in fat32 vs ntfs for the player to be able to see it

    there may even be a firmware update for the player as well
     
  14. aldan

    aldan Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,512
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    68
    so you have your external hdd plugged in via the usb port on your player?if so have you selected usb from your menu.it should see the drive if all this is correct.
     
  15. Brimorton116

    Brimorton116 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It does not show up, when i plug a USB stick in , it show up
     
  16. aldan

    aldan Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,512
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    68
    crap.it looks like scorp was on the right track when he suggested you check your specs to see what size hdd is accepted by your player.by the way,if you had not started this thread,its likely i wouldnt have hooked my external hdd to my player.just never thought of it.lol
     
    Mez likes this.
  17. Brimorton116

    Brimorton116 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Where do I find the specs , I don't have a manual
     
  18. Brimorton116

    Brimorton116 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Aidan

    When people think of HDD they think of a computer device but think about it
    All your media streaming on your tv
     
  19. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    38,959
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    128
    hdd is hard disk drive & hd is high definition.
     
  20. ps355528

    ps355528 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    996
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    28
    hmmm.. my tv is bad news like this.. recognises fat32 and reiserfs happily.. and NOTHING else.. not ntfs.. which is a bit of a nuisance as windows won't have anything to do with reiserfs.. and a couple of my works laptops are still running that garbage (because.. proprietary crap for presentations).. so how to proceed?.. grab a small usb stick.. format it in various ways and drop a file on and test it.. because.. even if a manufacturer says something "is" supported they can be so bloody picky that.. well.. yeah.. even an episode of a series batch, made in exactly the same way.. same codecs.. same file size.. same framerate.. same everything.. one plays other whines "unsupported".. it's bullshit..
     

Share This Page