1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How better iS V13 over V12?

Discussion in 'PS2' started by NHS2008, Feb 25, 2007.

  1. NHS2008

    NHS2008 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    626
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hey Everyone,
    I just busted my V12[​IMG] SLIM.
    And it looks like I will be getting a V13[​IMG].
    I wanted to know what are the advances that V13 gets over V12?
    I know a few but wanted to conform.
     
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2007
  2. kcwells

    kcwells Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i think they got rid of the network adaptor, but i can't remeber on that, but i do know that they fixed the laser problems the v12 was having, therefore, there is less chance of laser burnout on v13.
     
  3. NHS2008

    NHS2008 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    626
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thanks for that kcwells.

    They took the dialup conn port off the back of US V13. Howerver EUR

    V12 That i had did'nt have the the port as well it just had the

    broadband port(due to broadband being very popular and widely used in

    Europe as stated in Network Disc).

    As for the laser problem I hope they have figured it out cause in the

    2-year lifespan of my V12 I had to replace it 2-times.
     
  4. Memnock

    Memnock Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    2,535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Was the yellow box just in the UK? I don't recall seeing it in the US.
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2007
  5. kcwells

    kcwells Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i've never seen it in the U.S., must be U.K.
     
  6. steimy

    steimy Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    12,030
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    The V12 had some laser issues that were supposed to have been fixed in the V13. Other than that they are really pretty much the same.
    and both models can be fitted into an HD Combo case so that an internal hard drive can be added. An expensive addition but well worth it in the end.
     
  7. NHS2008

    NHS2008 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    626
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Getting a V13+MagicIII for 158.477 US Dollar/120.309 Euro/200.057 Australian Dollar

    Yes, It was UK only (I live in India Which is more UK compliant).

    And As for you steimy THANKS (Again x 3).

    BUT

    Does that mean that V13 also has Laser problems and should I also get

    laser Fix And if anybody knows a bit about Silver Slim PSTWO

    [​IMG]

    And are those extra bucks just for the SILVER colour or something

    other (Features).

    Thank you very much, Any help will be appreciated.
     
  8. kcwells

    kcwells Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i am fairly confident that the laser problem was solved, i have a v12 with a v13 motherboard in it with an h20 mod without the laser fix and i have had no problems with it.

    ok, ok, just checked it out and v13 has laser protection built in.

    that seems like a good price for a modified pstwo, make sure it is a reputable site, i heard of lots of people getting riped off. unless you can drive to the place.

    i think the silver is just a different case, i don't think it has any advantages.

    the newest version is v14, i don't know if it is out where you are, but... good luck
     
  9. NHS2008

    NHS2008 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    626
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    -YIPPEY! GOOD TIMES ARE BACK!

    Yeah It's a good site but it's not a WEB SITE so I will definatly drive to that place(These guys ripped me off Took the battery and old PS2'S Ripper 4 Mod out NOW,IT'S PAY-BACK TIME!)

    Glad to know that So I WON'T BE WASTING ANOTHER 10 BUCKS.

    Thank you Very much kcwells
    Do you know What's the Battery for? (CLOCK?)
     
  10. FoxStar

    FoxStar Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Before you buy that V13, I think there's something you should know. Final Fantasy 12 has been reported to have errors when playing on the V13.

    Take a look for yourself here:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Sj71ua5JXM
     
  11. NHS2008

    NHS2008 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    626
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    FoxStar
    (You sound\look like Sports Channel!)


    That seems bad but let's hope it's not UNIVERSAL.

    I will be getting the PAL version scph-7004 which I hope won't

    have that problem. Also does anyone else encounter this prob?
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2007
  12. xhardc0re

    xhardc0re Guest

    yeah its about that time for me to make the same decision. never had any probs with the laser on mine. PS2 versions (mod-chip.com)
     

Share This Page